Moroccan Spicy Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
These carrots are fabulous. I was cooking an African dinner & needed a vegetable to serve. I cut the recipe in half because I was a little skeptical as to whether or not they would get eaten. The bowl was cleaned out down to the last drop. Everyone loved them. I used red wine vinegar, it was over powering, I will omit the vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Delicious! I may have over estimated my "pinch" of cayenne as the carrots were a tad too spicy. But, my husband and father-in-law thought they were great! I doubled the recipe and as another reviewer mentioned, should not have double the liquid. Not a big deal though, just emptied out the extra water that was left in pan after carrot were done cooking. Will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wolpert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Very tasty. the first time I made them I doubled everything but it was too much liquid so I stopped doubling the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Absolutely deliscious. Savers and yummy. We ate them hot with marinated chic and potatoes. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I had a version of this at a Moroccan restaurant and was trying to duplicate it. I made three mistakes, and will try it again as written. First, I only had balsamic vinegar, which made the appearance darker than illustrated. Next, I accidentally dumped the vinegar in the mixture at the beginning of cooking instead of at the end. Third, I found I didn't have ground cumin, only the seeds. I tried to grind them in my mortar/pestle but it didn't work. I decided to throw them in the cooking mixture as well. It did take a lot longer than 20 minutes for the carrots to get tender and the liquid to evaporate, but I thought keeping all the ingredients was important so I kept cooking till the liquid was nearly gone - got to a syrupy consistency before the end. All in all it was tasty, now I have to go back to the Moroccan restaurant and try the original to compare tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Lovely! That vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar) gives it such a cool kick. I couldn't stop eating these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I'm always looking for new ways to serve carrots and I'll happily add this to my rotation. I overdid the vinegar (bottle slipped) so they were a tad acidic, but still quite good. Thanks, Malak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Quite a winner with great balance of flavors and I love a new way to cook a healthy vegetable side dish that even my picky husband who doesn't like carrots but got 2nds of this and said it was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
These were pretty good but had a mild flavor in my opinion. These were good but not great. However, next time I might try it with Carol's recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I have made these about 10 times. The first time I made it, I tasted it and tasted it until it was gone! I have made them per the original recipe and with Carols suggested changes. I like the lemon juice and use it when I have it and have also used rice wine vinegar or cider vinegar. I use 1/4 tsp. cayenne and 1/2 tsp. salt. My friends have asked for the recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States