Moroccan Spicy Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Absolutely deliscious. Savers and yummy. We ate them hot with marinated chic and potatoes. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I had a version of this at a Moroccan restaurant and was trying to duplicate it. I made three mistakes, and will try it again as written. First, I only had balsamic vinegar, which made the appearance darker than illustrated. Next, I accidentally dumped the vinegar in the mixture at the beginning of cooking instead of at the end. Third, I found I didn't have ground cumin, only the seeds. I tried to grind them in my mortar/pestle but it didn't work. I decided to throw them in the cooking mixture as well. It did take a lot longer than 20 minutes for the carrots to get tender and the liquid to evaporate, but I thought keeping all the ingredients was important so I kept cooking till the liquid was nearly gone - got to a syrupy consistency before the end. All in all it was tasty, now I have to go back to the Moroccan restaurant and try the original to compare tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Lovely! That vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar) gives it such a cool kick. I couldn't stop eating these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I'm always looking for new ways to serve carrots and I'll happily add this to my rotation. I overdid the vinegar (bottle slipped) so they were a tad acidic, but still quite good. Thanks, Malak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Quite a winner with great balance of flavors and I love a new way to cook a healthy vegetable side dish that even my picky husband who doesn't like carrots but got 2nds of this and said it was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
These were pretty good but had a mild flavor in my opinion. These were good but not great. However, next time I might try it with Carol's recommendations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I have made these about 10 times. The first time I made it, I tasted it and tasted it until it was gone! I have made them per the original recipe and with Carols suggested changes. I like the lemon juice and use it when I have it and have also used rice wine vinegar or cider vinegar. I use 1/4 tsp. cayenne and 1/2 tsp. salt. My friends have asked for the recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Wow, I think these were the best tasting carrots that I have ever had! Extremely flavorful and such interesting flavors at that. I thought maybe with the cayenne and paprika that these might be too spicy, but they came out perfect. And while it takes a little while for the carrots to cook, it is so easy because a lot of the time is just waiting, and you can do other things during that time. My whole family loved these carrots so I know I will be making them again sometime soon. Thanks for the recipe, Malak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I left out the cayenne, changed vinegar to twice the amount with lemon juice. Big problem with method which I changed completely. Spices like cumin and paprika need to be fried in the olive oil to develop full flavour. So I did that and added garlic in at the last and fried 30 seconds. Added oil mix to lemon juice and added cilantro. Put al dente carrots in warm from the pot, draining the water first. Salad needs to marinate a few hours at room temp to develop full flavour. Will add some onion to dressing next time, about 3T minced onion will go in with the garlic to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States