Moroccan Spicy Carrot Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Very good carrots! I reduced the cayenne since I knew my dinner guests aren't big on spicy, so I only put 1/2 tsp. I didn't have any wine vinegar figured we could just try it without. It wasn't really needed they still had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I had a version of this at a Moroccan restaurant and was trying to duplicate it. I made three mistakes, and will try it again as written. First, I only had balsamic vinegar, which made the appearance darker than illustrated. Next, I accidentally dumped the vinegar in the mixture at the beginning of cooking instead of at the end. Third, I found I didn't have ground cumin, only the seeds. I tried to grind them in my mortar/pestle but it didn't work. I decided to throw them in the cooking mixture as well. It did take a lot longer than 20 minutes for the carrots to get tender and the liquid to evaporate, but I thought keeping all the ingredients was important so I kept cooking till the liquid was nearly gone - got to a syrupy consistency before the end. All in all it was tasty, now I have to go back to the Moroccan restaurant and try the original to compare tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I have made these about 10 times. The first time I made it, I tasted it and tasted it until it was gone! I have made them per the original recipe and with Carols suggested changes. I like the lemon juice and use it when I have it and have also used rice wine vinegar or cider vinegar. I use 1/4 tsp. cayenne and 1/2 tsp. salt. My friends have asked for the recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
These carrots are fabulous. I was cooking an African dinner & needed a vegetable to serve. I cut the recipe in half because I was a little skeptical as to whether or not they would get eaten. The bowl was cleaned out down to the last drop. Everyone loved them. I used red wine vinegar, it was over powering, I will omit the vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Excellent! Everyone wanted the recipe. I used 50% more of all spices. When the carrots were almost cooked I removed them from the pan and then reduced the sauce. Once the sauce was reduced I then turned off the heat and resumed the recipe. Best carrot dish that many of us ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Quite a winner with great balance of flavors and I love a new way to cook a healthy vegetable side dish that even my picky husband who doesn't like carrots but got 2nds of this and said it was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Wow, I think these were the best tasting carrots that I have ever had! Extremely flavorful and such interesting flavors at that. I thought maybe with the cayenne and paprika that these might be too spicy, but they came out perfect. And while it takes a little while for the carrots to cook, it is so easy because a lot of the time is just waiting, and you can do other things during that time. My whole family loved these carrots so I know I will be making them again sometime soon. Thanks for the recipe, Malak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Lovely! That vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar) gives it such a cool kick. I couldn't stop eating these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Absolutely deliscious. Savers and yummy. We ate them hot with marinated chic and potatoes. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Very tasty. the first time I made them I doubled everything but it was too much liquid so I stopped doubling the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States