Moroccan Salmon Cakes with Garlic Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I had a box of tabouleh couscous mix that I needed to use to I changed this a bit. I prepared the couscous mix and added pouch salmon, spinach, garlic, orange juice, and little mayo. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I used an extra egg & some more flavoring when I made this recipe. I loved it!!! To add some extra flare, I placed the salmon cakes on a bed of carrot/potato hash, then dolloped with the garlic mayo and sprinkled with paprika. It looked so gourmet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I made these for my boyfriend and he thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I am on the fence about these. I followed the recipe with the exception of cooking the couscous in OJ (did not have any), and I baked instead of fried to cut back on fat. I thought they were just ok. I liked the texture with the couscous. I think what I did not like was maybe the cumin. I like cumin in Mexican dishes, but I thought it was a strange combo with the salmon. Maybe next time I would try curry powder instead? I am not sure. My husband really liked them though, so I will definitely try again with some adjusmtents. I got 8 baseball-sized cakes out of the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
I switched the couscous to quinoa. My family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Without a doubt, the BEST salmon cakes ever. I served them with hummus & toasted pita wedges and beets for a veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Really light and tasty, but the cous cous gets crunchy quickly. i used yogurt v. mayo to reduce calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
oh my gosh...oh my gosh...oh my gosh!!! AWESOME!!!!!!! i am in love with this recipe...it is heavenly and I am going to make it again and again! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This recipe was different and a nice change from my usual salmon patties. I read the reviews and did a few of the things suggested in different reviews (thanks!). Since I didn't have spinach on hand, I used shredded carrots (2 medium) instead. I used two whole eggs (very necessary, IMO). I also baked them in greased muffin tins. I added some parsley to the mayo for color. I wish I would have done one more suggestion - add the mayo sauce directly to the mix. They came out a little dry, but perhaps that was from the carrots vs. spinach. I'm not a big fan of fish, and I thought the couscous really toned down the fishy flavor. As a note to those not used to canned salmon (inexpensive or not): take out any skin/scales you find. When draining, just pick up all the bones and crush them in your fingertips - they are very soft - and you'll not notice them in the final product. It helps add a lot of calcium to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Something was terribly wrong with this recipe. I love salmon patties. I don't care for spinach by itself, but in something it is okay, so I thought this would be a perfect way to get my veggie in with my salmon. I followed the recipe to the letter. I didn't even add extra garlic this time, and I am prone to doing that. The patties would not stay together at all. The salmon was very fishy tasting, which isn't the recipes fault. As a result, the dish was not edible. I was going to rate it a 1 because of that, but gave it a 3 because it was mostly not edible because of the taste of the particular salmon I purchased. On the other hand, the garlic mayo was fabulous. I kept it for another use. I loved the idea of the spinach and couscous. The recipe was not complicated, but it was very time consuming. I would never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States