Moroccan Salmon Cakes with Garlic Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Just adore this recipe, salmon patties used to only be a childhood memory during lent before I found these. I have made these countless times (all year round) and shared the recipe with friends and family. Have used fresh salmon and canned as well as fresh or frozen spinach. Whatever you have works here. I always leave out he OJ (just a squeeze of lemon works for me) double the cumin and bake them in a greased muffin tin. Leftovers for sandwiches travel well and never go to waste. I also swap out the mayo for Greek yogurt using more cumin, lemon and garlic. Just one fantastic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I don't like fish and especially not canned salmon, but really enjoyed this. My cakes didn't stay together so next time I think I will use a whole egg. But other than that, I enjoyed them as did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Great recipe! Went really well with the garlic mayonnaise! Not sure if I'll work on the extra work with the couscous though. I'll probably going to leave it out next time, as suggested from the reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Loved this recipe! I followed it exactly and yes I did have one patty that fell apart, so I decided to read the other reviews and will try whole eggs instead of yolks and chilling the mixture before making the patties. At first I was concerned about quantity but these are also pretty filling. My husband, 20 year old son, 17 year daughter and I ate them all and we were full, no leftovers though :( We'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Great change of pace for Lent! I used frozen salmon I had baked with salt and pepper - trying to use up freezer items and this salmon was a lower-end salmon that was all but inedible normally prepared. I cut the OJ in half, replacing the other half with water because I'm not big on orange flavored food. I don't know how much spinach I used - just used up some fresh spinach I had, cooked. I liked the garlic mayo. Mine was probably heavy on the garlic, but that was fine by me. Seems like a pretty forgiving recipe. I could easily see adding more garlic or some hot spices. A bit of feta cheese may be interesting, too. Maybe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
A little strange, certainly, but I think I like them! Hubby and daughter did not like, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Didn't make with the couscous due to gluten intolerance. I made a few without the couscous and they were good, but found them lacking somewhat so I followed the advice of another reviewer and mixed the mayo with the salmon to form the patties. Turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I was surprised at how much I enjoyed these. My son wasn't as impressed, but he finished his (which I was pretty pleased with since he can be a typical picky four year old). I felt like the garlic mayonnaise was a bit heavy so I might add a little sour cream or Greek yogurt to cut it. I served these over couscous and a Moroccan veggie stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
i rolled the fish cakes into bite size balls and cooked them in oven.they were the perfect appetizer served with tzatzika for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
One of my favorite recipes! I found this a year or two ago and have made it exactly to the recipe and with changes- always delicious! My discoveries: I use fresh spinach and add an extra egg to replace the moisture (making 3 WHOLE eggs to hold it together), I double the garlic in the mayo... because it's yummy, and usually fry in a tablespoon or less of olive oil, instead of baking as others have suggested. I've also made these several times without orange juice (just because I didn't have it on hand) and it was still fantastic (though not quite the same). I've fiddled with it in other ways, but these are my most consistent changes. Thanks for the marvelous recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States