Moroccan Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
This recipe is great for those who love well-spiced (but not necessarily hot) recipes! Even if you're not a cilantro fan, you'll still love this one. Make sure to taste the herb sauce after adding 1/2 of the lemon to determine if more is needed. I added 8 garlic cloves and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This was a fair amount of work, and I did it the easy way. Instead of fresh herbs, I used 2 tbsp. of dried cilantro and parsley. Since there was less to "process," I was able to mix up the sauce without using a blender, just using a garlic press and a fork to mix. I poured the sauce over the potato/veggie mixture and stirred it all up a bit. Instead of fresh tomatoes, I used a 14.5 oz. can of diced ones. I only had idaho potatoes, and they worked fine, but I had to cook the dish for quite a bit longer. I didn't have red pepper, so I used an orange one instead. I used pre-made lemon juice but probably only had the equiv. of half a lemon. I think the juice from the canned tomatoes evened out the liquid levels anyway. The end result was good. At first, we weren't totally impressed, but the second day after the sauce really had time to sink into the veggies, it was definitely better. Next time, I would add more cayenne and 1/2 a tbsp. less vinegar. Then I'd substitute the yellow pepper with zuchinni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I love this dish! It's *always* a hit for company or potlucks. Even my mother -- who professes to hate cilantro -- loves it. I find it needs a longer baking time than the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
An update... After making this for years, and enjoying it, I started to get into vegetarian cooking and purchased Deborah Madison's "Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone". Imagine my surprise when I found this recipe, almost exactly as written, in that cookbook! However, the poster left out a step, which is to parboil the potatoes, already sliced (DM also recommend fingerling potatoes sliced in half, if available), for 10 minutes, before roasting with remaining veggies. At that point, you cover with foil, bake at 375 for 35 minutes, then uncover and bake another 15. Might help some of you crunchy potato people out. Anyway, if you enjoyed this, I highly suggest the Madison cookbook mentioned. It is beyond phenomenal. I am not even a vegetarian, and it is by far my favorite cookbook. And as a side note, please, never use dried cilantro or parsley as suggested by another reviewer. They have 0 flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
A decent side to complement a main dish, but don't be fooled, this recipe is no casserole--it's nothing more than roasted veggies with a herb-intensive marinade. I probably won't take the time to prepare and cook this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I made it this week and it was FABULOUS!!! The only thing I might do differently is add a can of chopped, stewed tomatos with half the can of juice instead of the fresh tomatos since I really loved the sauce and want more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I did not care for this. I'm giving it two stars instead of one because it presents really nicely. With some major overhaul of spices this could be a very nice dish. It was very pretty. Followed the recipe exactly. I LOVE Moroccan food and found this to be a very poor representation of what food from that region should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2001
The sauce was very tasty, but the potatoes were not even close to tender, even after I added 15 minutes to the time. It might be a good idea to precook the potatoes before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
A lot of chopping. Next time I might half the recipe. Overall, it was pretty good. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
This is an amazing and easy to make recipe. Yummy as a veggie side dish, as a main meal over rice or on its own. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States