Moroccan Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
An update... After making this for years, and enjoying it, I started to get into vegetarian cooking and purchased Deborah Madison's "Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone". Imagine my surprise when I found this recipe, almost exactly as written, in that cookbook! However, the poster left out a step, which is to parboil the potatoes, already sliced (DM also recommend fingerling potatoes sliced in half, if available), for 10 minutes, before roasting with remaining veggies. At that point, you cover with foil, bake at 375 for 35 minutes, then uncover and bake another 15. Might help some of you crunchy potato people out. Anyway, if you enjoyed this, I highly suggest the Madison cookbook mentioned. It is beyond phenomenal. I am not even a vegetarian, and it is by far my favorite cookbook. And as a side note, please, never use dried cilantro or parsley as suggested by another reviewer. They have 0 flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I made it this week and it was FABULOUS!!! The only thing I might do differently is add a can of chopped, stewed tomatos with half the can of juice instead of the fresh tomatos since I really loved the sauce and want more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
Fantastic! Unfortunately I couldn't find fresh cilantro at the store this time around, but just added a bit more parsley and some dried dill and basil, and it was still great. Also didn't add the celery, can never find it at the store, but I prefer it without anyway. Definitely a keeper. I'll remember to make this next time I need to impress someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Skopje, Skopje, Macedonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I love this dish! It's *always* a hit for company or potlucks. Even my mother -- who professes to hate cilantro -- loves it. I find it needs a longer baking time than the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
A lot of chopping. Next time I might half the recipe. Overall, it was pretty good. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2001
The sauce was very tasty, but the potatoes were not even close to tender, even after I added 15 minutes to the time. It might be a good idea to precook the potatoes before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
Lots of chopping, and a bit bland for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
This recipe is great for those who love well-spiced (but not necessarily hot) recipes! Even if you're not a cilantro fan, you'll still love this one. Make sure to taste the herb sauce after adding 1/2 of the lemon to determine if more is needed. I added 8 garlic cloves and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
This is definitely a ten. It is a keeper and repeater. It was really a big hit around here. Looks great, too. Great looking dish for a smorgasboard dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2000
This is an amazing and easy to make recipe. Yummy as a veggie side dish, as a main meal over rice or on its own. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States