Moroccan Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Delicious dish, I love the way the peppers added a sweetness to it. The lemon was a bit overpowering, I think I will only use half as much next time. It also took much longer to cook up than the recipe suggested. I put mine in the oven for 30 minutes with the tin foil, then it took an additional 45 minutes for the potatoes to become tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I loved this recipe. It was flavorful and fun to make, but I really enjot cooking. I can see how this would not be a working persons favorite dish to make. It requires a lot of chopping and prep, but I thought it was well worth it. It took about 20 additional minutes for the potatoes to get tender and I only used 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper and it was PLEANTY spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Great flavors and super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This was a fair amount of work, and I did it the easy way. Instead of fresh herbs, I used 2 tbsp. of dried cilantro and parsley. Since there was less to "process," I was able to mix up the sauce without using a blender, just using a garlic press and a fork to mix. I poured the sauce over the potato/veggie mixture and stirred it all up a bit. Instead of fresh tomatoes, I used a 14.5 oz. can of diced ones. I only had idaho potatoes, and they worked fine, but I had to cook the dish for quite a bit longer. I didn't have red pepper, so I used an orange one instead. I used pre-made lemon juice but probably only had the equiv. of half a lemon. I think the juice from the canned tomatoes evened out the liquid levels anyway. The end result was good. At first, we weren't totally impressed, but the second day after the sauce really had time to sink into the veggies, it was definitely better. Next time, I would add more cayenne and 1/2 a tbsp. less vinegar. Then I'd substitute the yellow pepper with zuchinni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This is a GREAT recipe! Made it for a dinner party with African Curry chicken and Ginger Pears for dessert - it was a huge hit. I now use this sauce for salad dressing and a topping for fish and chicken - it is so fresh tasting and flavorful. The only change that I made was using 1/4 cinnamon instead of the cumin - I was out the first time I made this. I also don't put in the celery now- just because I don't like the texture of it cooked...Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
I did not like this recipe. It was not worth the work. I gave it two stars because my friends did seem to enjoy it. However, if they knew how much work was involved, I don't think they would have thought it was worth it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This was great. I had to cook this a lot longer than the recipe said because my potatoes wouldn't get soft. I also added cubes of eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Huntingtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Very tasty. I subbed balamic vinegar for the red wine vinegar. I threw in some pre-cooked salad shrimp toward the last half of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
Very tasty. The sauce tasted a little bland before I mixed it with the vegetables, so I added another 14 teaspoon cayenne. The result was too hot for my husband, and it was spicier after cooking, so I won't do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
An average dish with a lot of chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States