Moroccan Potato Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
A really wonderful soup. I would recommend adding a little bit more beans and potato to make it chunkier. I also didn't have white pepper, and it was still delicious. I made it for a luncheon and EVERYONE absolutely raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
We really loved this soup! everybody, including kids loved it too. If you you want more spiciness (for daredevils) add more cayenne pepper! Try this if you love indian food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
flavorful and hearty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
This was very tasty, however too salty, perhaps my own fault as i used a chicken base soup starter for the boullion which i think was the culprit. I used great northern beans. I didn't have whole milk or 1/2 and 1/2, so i used 1% milk with a splash of whipping cream. I will make this again. Thank you William.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This was very tasty! I didn't use the potato flakes because I don't like the texture, so I thickened it a little with some flour and water before I added the milk and cream. It worked out great. I think this would be a really good base for a fish or chicken curry. Thanks for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This was deliciously spicy and has a strong heat that makes you want to eat more! I loved the fact that the spice was mellowed by the creaminess of the milf and half n half. What a kicker! Thnx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
The flavor is absolutely delicious. I used the full amount of Cayenne pepper. I STRONGLY ADVISE everyone who makes this to make it without the cayenne pepper. Add some at the end if you feel like you need to, but go easy. This comes from someone who likes it SPICY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
My Moroccan husband absolutely loved this recipe! He felt it carried an Indian curry flair. But he gave it 5 stars, said it was super spicy and cleared out his sinuses :-) ! Thanks- this ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRADY'S LADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This is my new favorite soup! I made this in a crockpot, throwing everything in except the milk, cream, and green onions right at the start. I omitted the white pepper and reduced the cayenne substantially, knowing my kids would not be able to tolerate it that hot. A few minutes before serving, I stirred in the milk, cream, and onions. This was delicious! It had a nice, peppery bite that the kids sort of objected to, but the adults agreed it was a fantastic soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is a hot, spicy sinus clearing soup! I used a sweet potato instead of the regular kind, navy pea beans instead of kidney beans, and soy milk instead of cow's milk. Once I got used to the heat, this was a good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States