Moroccan Potato Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
A really wonderful soup. I would recommend adding a little bit more beans and potato to make it chunkier. I also didn't have white pepper, and it was still delicious. I made it for a luncheon and EVERYONE absolutely raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
We really loved this soup! everybody, including kids loved it too. If you you want more spiciness (for daredevils) add more cayenne pepper! Try this if you love indian food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
The flavor is absolutely delicious. I used the full amount of Cayenne pepper. I STRONGLY ADVISE everyone who makes this to make it without the cayenne pepper. Add some at the end if you feel like you need to, but go easy. This comes from someone who likes it SPICY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was really good served over rice or as a soup. I made it vegan by substituting the milk with silken tofu pureed with water (12oz silken tofu in food processor with 1/4c of water makes a creamy liquid). I whisked the tofu mixture into the simmering soup. I also added a can of Navy Beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is a hot, spicy sinus clearing soup! I used a sweet potato instead of the regular kind, navy pea beans instead of kidney beans, and soy milk instead of cow's milk. Once I got used to the heat, this was a good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Four stars because i didn't follow the recipe exactly, but it was amazing!!! The white pepper is a must in my opinion. I used red kidney beans and a can of canellini because it's what i had on hand (i also doubled the recipe). I skipped the curry powder because i didn't have any. I'm glad i did, because the soup had an amazing and unique flavor without it, and i think had i added it would have tasted too indian or thai. Anyways, i'll be making this again! It's different, spicy, and perfect for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
Made to recipe, this was an extremely spicy soup. We had to cool the spices down, but when we did, the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very yummy. No hot pepper powders and used the flower/water combo instead of instant potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
My Moroccan husband absolutely loved this recipe! He felt it carried an Indian curry flair. But he gave it 5 stars, said it was super spicy and cleared out his sinuses :-) ! Thanks- this ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRADY'S LADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Hearty, tasty, and unique! Is it legitimately Moroccan?- I don't know, but the flavors are wonderful! I subbed white beans for kidney beans, only due to what I had on hand, and even my picky roommates ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States