Moroccan Potato Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
LOVE LOVE this soup! My husband liked it, but thought it was too spicy. I thought it was PERFECT. I couldn't get enough. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This is a hot, spicy sinus clearing soup! I used a sweet potato instead of the regular kind, navy pea beans instead of kidney beans, and soy milk instead of cow's milk. Once I got used to the heat, this was a good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Four stars because i didn't follow the recipe exactly, but it was amazing!!! The white pepper is a must in my opinion. I used red kidney beans and a can of canellini because it's what i had on hand (i also doubled the recipe). I skipped the curry powder because i didn't have any. I'm glad i did, because the soup had an amazing and unique flavor without it, and i think had i added it would have tasted too indian or thai. Anyways, i'll be making this again! It's different, spicy, and perfect for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Very yummy. No hot pepper powders and used the flower/water combo instead of instant potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was really good served over rice or as a soup. I made it vegan by substituting the milk with silken tofu pureed with water (12oz silken tofu in food processor with 1/4c of water makes a creamy liquid). I whisked the tofu mixture into the simmering soup. I also added a can of Navy Beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This is my new favorite soup! I made this in a crockpot, throwing everything in except the milk, cream, and green onions right at the start. I omitted the white pepper and reduced the cayenne substantially, knowing my kids would not be able to tolerate it that hot. A few minutes before serving, I stirred in the milk, cream, and onions. This was delicious! It had a nice, peppery bite that the kids sort of objected to, but the adults agreed it was a fantastic soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Very flavorful. We love spicy food but were happy with the recipe without the cayenne. In addition to the kidney beans and potato, I added a can of garbanzo beans and some steamed cauliflower & skipped the potato flakes b/c I didn't have any. It was a good recipe, I'll make it again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
very disappointing. Not enough beans or potatoes; although the base was on the edge of tasty, altogether a very "blah" soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I liked this alot. I did add frozen peas to this to give some color and flavor. Next time I would add a few more and definitely add more beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
My Moroccan husband absolutely loved this recipe! He felt it carried an Indian curry flair. But he gave it 5 stars, said it was super spicy and cleared out his sinuses :-) ! Thanks- this ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRADY'S LADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States