Moroccan Meat Cigars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
These were AWESOME!!!!!! I use jerk seasoning instead of all the different spices (they look pretty much the same) and made them bigger to serve for the main course at dinner. I will be making these again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiele Briscoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nucla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rocky Ford, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I love this recipe as it but to mix it up I occasionally use organic ground lamb and I add some chili powder to add a little bit of a kick to it! These are perfect for pot-lucks, as appetizers, or finger foods for Sunday football!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
My husband is going to love these... Now i just need to find a side to go with them. After trying the original recipe, I decided to add onion to the ground pork (it's what i had) and it gave it that little extra zing. Tried them with hummus, but i'm probably going to whip up a yogurt sauce for these. Glad i took a chance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
The meat mixture tastes wonderfully spicy! This was my first time working with that kind of dough, so the rolls weren't uniformly shaped. Everyone agrees that we should make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Okay, I changed it completely but I give 5 because how can I rate this recipe any lower if I changed it so much. I loved the concept so it gets a 5. I loved my version also, so it gets a 5. I used ground turkey, curry powder, cumin, garlic, onions, cayenne and some garlic cream cheese once it cooked and some sweet and sour sauce. Let it cool and then folded each sheet of phyllo in half and rolled this mixture. It cooked for about 20 minutes and they were amazing. Highly recommend as a main or an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I make these at least once a week coz my husband keeps asking for them all the time. I do the folowing changes: 1- before adding the ground beef to the skillet I add 1/4 cup chopped onion and stir them in the EVO until golden brown then I add the ground beef. 2- I use fresh chopped roma tomato instead of crushed tomatoes . 3- I add back pepper + clove of garlic and dried parsley just right before turning the heat off. 4- I brush them with real melted butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I LOOOOVE these! I add minced onion, and probably double the spices, brush phyllo w melted butter. I dipped in tzatziki. It's delicious! I can't decide what side to serve w them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BizzyBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
These are so delicious! I have to admit, I have never tried a beef or meat recipe using these particular spices before, so I was hesitant to make it. But I am so glad I did. The flavours were wonderfully fragrant while it simmered and the taste, all the flavours complimented each other perfectly! I did leave out the paprika cause I had none but added some cayenne pepper instead. I also brushed my phyllo dough with melted butter cause I didn't have cooking spray. So it had a buttery flavour to it as well. I probably used double the amount of filling in my cigars, but that's just personal preference. I did not dip these in anything, I ate them plain. They would make impressive appetizers at parties or just great for snacking on as a finger food. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I used to be afraid of baking with phyllo, but now I have the courage to try! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This recipe rates a 5 because I will definitely make these again. Could be kicked up a bit as far as spices go but people's tastes vary so I still give this five stars. Quite easy but worth doubling the recipe. Might as well make more when you're at it. Even doubling would be good for only three people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States