Moroccan Meat Cigars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I make these at least once a week coz my husband keeps asking for them all the time. I do the folowing changes: 1- before adding the ground beef to the skillet I add 1/4 cup chopped onion and stir them in the EVO until golden brown then I add the ground beef. 2- I use fresh chopped roma tomato instead of crushed tomatoes . 3- I add back pepper + clove of garlic and dried parsley just right before turning the heat off. 4- I brush them with real melted butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monjfr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Loved the concept not so much the content, at first! Heeded the warnings of other reviewers; tasted the filling and it was bland. I added salt&pepper, cayenne, garlic, onion, mint, parsley, dill, lemon zest. Served it with Tzatziki sauce. It was on! Make it a Cuban cigar next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I made these tonight for dinner and followed the recipe exactly. My husband and I both thought they were a little bland. This isn't a difficult recipe and I think worth another try. Next time I will add salt and include a dipping sauce of some type. Surprisingly with the variety of spices, the "cigar" itself is bland. I also think brushing the phyllo with butter would add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
My husband and I thought these were okay but not enough flavor. It took a bit more effort than it was worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
My husband is going to love these... Now i just need to find a side to go with them. After trying the original recipe, I decided to add onion to the ground pork (it's what i had) and it gave it that little extra zing. Tried them with hummus, but i'm probably going to whip up a yogurt sauce for these. Glad i took a chance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I used to be afraid of baking with phyllo, but now I have the courage to try! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
These were AWESOME!!!!!! I use jerk seasoning instead of all the different spices (they look pretty much the same) and made them bigger to serve for the main course at dinner. I will be making these again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiele Briscoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nucla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rocky Ford, Colorado, USA
Photo by Nobody'sGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was decent. I would definitely let it 'meld' overnight. I tried it immediately after I made it and almost tossed it out right then and there. It was soooo bland. I added some cayenne and left it until morning. After you wrap it up in some really buttery phyllo, it is much better. No 'tang' or salt at all, which is a little strange to get used to. But all in all, not bad. I think I would definitely want a dipping sauce. But not hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nobody'sGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
These are so delicious! I have to admit, I have never tried a beef or meat recipe using these particular spices before, so I was hesitant to make it. But I am so glad I did. The flavours were wonderfully fragrant while it simmered and the taste, all the flavours complimented each other perfectly! I did leave out the paprika cause I had none but added some cayenne pepper instead. I also brushed my phyllo dough with melted butter cause I didn't have cooking spray. So it had a buttery flavour to it as well. I probably used double the amount of filling in my cigars, but that's just personal preference. I did not dip these in anything, I ate them plain. They would make impressive appetizers at parties or just great for snacking on as a finger food. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
The meat mixture tastes wonderfully spicy! This was my first time working with that kind of dough, so the rolls weren't uniformly shaped. Everyone agrees that we should make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States