Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
At first bite, this seemed bland. However, the spices give an excellent after taste, and that's what really matters. I did find I liked it better with a bit of salt. Next time I may try replacing at least some of the water with beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waynerc38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Que DELICIAAAA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was really good. I cooked the onions and garlic on top of the stove before throwing everything in to my slow cooker for 2 hours on high + 8 hours on low. I rounded all of my spoon measurements for alittle extra kick. At the last hour I poured half into my blender and returned it to the slow cooker to cook for the remainder of the time. When serving, I add 1-2 tbsp of raisins for a nice sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Hillsdale, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This came out much better than I thought it would but since I used different spices, I will only rate 4 stars. Changes I made: ras el hannout instead of garam masala. No cardamon seeds. 1.5-2 times the measurements for spices. 2 extra cups water. I didnt know you have to sort of "half mesh" it, so i blended it too fine, but the taste was still great, it is quite rich though, so I think its more a main than just soup :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
The recipe was easy to make and came out good. It was a bit flowery for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattinyc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Even better the next day! I added 2 bay leaves for some more flavor but overall, this was a great winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Made this over the chilly weekend exactly as written but using a cooking spray instead of the oil and substituting more of the other spices since my grocery store was unexpectedly lame in the garam masala area. Worked amazingly well and I will be making this again and again. Turns out very rich and thick (thanks to the blender action) and filling when it's cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This soup was awesome!!! I did make a few adjustment though, I did half broth (vegetable because that's what I had open) and half water, added more garlic and 1/2tsp more garam. What amazed me was that I didn't need to add salt and I like my salt. I guess the salt from the broth, beans and tomatoes were enough. However I could see it being bland if just using water. I don't know my Moroccan spices but I do know my Indian and I definitely agree those are all Indian spices. So what should this soup be called then...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was great, but I did change it a little. I used Ras al Hanout instead of garam masala and I left out the cardamom. I also used ground ginger instead of fresh, and I left out the garbanzos and cannellinis since I didn't have them in the pantry. I sauteed the vegetables in oil and then added the spices and sauteed for 5 more min, then added the water and lentils. It was delicious, easy and cheap and I look forward to the leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
So yummy! and so healthy for my pregnant self. Follow the ras el hanut spice directions and its perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States