Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Easy, hearty, freezes well and delicious! I added some spinach and will try adding fresh mint next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Who cares if the spices are Moroccan or Indian? This is super easy and so tasty as written. Thank you a thousand times for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I made this last night and it was delicious. I did change some things, like adding kidney beans instead of garbonzos, curry powder instead of garam masala, and adding part water and part chicken broth. It was very easy, and everyone absolutely loved it!! thanks for the recipe, I will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This soup is AMAZING. The spices are exotic and interesting without being overpowering. Change nothing, except maybe add a little salt. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I loved this. My husband wasn't crazy about it, but I knew it was a stretch for him with this combination of flavors before I made it. I made the recipe as is, except I doubled the carrots, celery, and cayenne pepper. Next time I might add even more carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Didn't puree anything, made in a pressure cooker. Absoluely loved it with rotis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I have to agree with some of the other reviewers on the whole Indian vs. Moroccan thing. I personally found it to lean more towards Indian flavours with the garam masala but it was a throughly enjoyable dish and it has been - per my family - put on the favorites list. I did modify a bit. I added a very small pinch of saffron, only used 1 tsp of fresh ground cardamom, used a mix of fresh and canned tomatoes, and put 1 small potato (cut in a fine dice) in about 20 min before it was done. I did not puree any of the soup as it was thick enough for my tastes. All in all a fantastic meal... Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calamity in the kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Made this recipe exactly as stated... It was fantastic. I will be making this one again. One thing I added was salt. I used 1/2 tsp and it needed a little more, so 3/4 tsp salt would work for me. I looked up recipes for both Ras el Hanut and Garam Masala and found next to no difference what so ever. Also I looked up Moroccan Spices and found they use the same spice as in Indian cooking, hardly any difference at all. All the spices used in this dish are used in both Indian and Moroccan cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is a wonderful soup! I used the green lentils, a can of kidney beans and a can of black beans for my soup, as others stated. The rest of the recipe I kept as the recipe read. I think I would like to pick up the Moroccan spice that individuals had mentioned to taste the difference in flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Very tasty. Used the Ras el Hanout spices as recommended by other reviewers. Turned out beautifully although very, very thick. Almost more of a lentil stew or curry. Could be watered down, but is still good as is, although I prefer to dip/spread on pita wedges this way. Made A LOT. Next time would halve beans/lentils but keep other measurements the same. (I like lots of tomato and spices and the extra broth would help keep it soupier.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States