Moroccan Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by CoffeeAddict
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Pretty good. I subbed ras el hanout in place of the garam masala. Something was still missing. I think next time I will use chicken broth instead of water and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I threw all ingredients into a crock pot: 1 c brown lentils, 1 chopped onion, 1/2 c chopped carrot, 2 chopped potatoes, 1 can white beans, 14 oz crushed tomatoes, 1 quart chicken stock, 1 cup water, 2 t minced garlic, 1/2 t gr ginger, 2 t. garam masala, 1/2 t cayenne, 1/2 t cumin. Set to low and cooked 12 hrs. House smells like heaven. Didn't add cardomom because I didn't have any, but I sure will next time. Thank you Grace and Mae for expanding my Meatless Monday menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaNJ
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Really savory and delicious. Had it with some Middle Eastern Flatbread from Trader Joe's. Whole family loved it and we're not even vegetarian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I took Serena's advice and added RAS EL HANOUT in order to make it more Moroccan, which was great especially since I've never cooked with that spice! However, I also added the other spices, but honestly it needed more spicyness. The flavors were good, but not spicy enough for me. I also added both green and red lentils and I used low sodium veggie broth and I added 2 bay leaves. A couple a changes I would make next time is I would add another can of tomatoes and I would get crushed not diced. Overall, it was an easy soup and I would try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sf twin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Nice and spicy lentil soup here loaded with vegetables! Moroccan or not Moroccan - who cares. It tastes great! I did use chicken broth instead of water as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Great. My husband wants to have grid again. Also 4 kids I served it to ate it up. I left out the tomatoes bc I didn't have any. I subbed the recommended moroccan seasoning blend rather than garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
The spices were overwhelming, yet tasteless because the recipe lacked acidity. We added vinegar which helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This did NOT work for us, maybe we got the spice combination wrong. Definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was very good, but needed a touch of salt added to it. After I did that, it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
this was nice and easy. its still basically a bean/lentil soup, but the flavor was a nice change for me. i served it with pomegranite/spinach salad with balsamic viniagrette (both from this site), and i think it would be nice served with cornbread also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States