Moroccan Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Husband did not like this at all--thank goodness I made only 1/2 the recipe because I've got alot to eat myself! I've added some red onion and more jalapeno peppers to the original recipe. Definitely won't be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Letting the salad sit a few hours really helped the flavor soak in, but it still wasn't enough for me. Granted, I did have to leave out the chili pepper because I couldn't eat it, so I won't hold that against the recipe. I like that it's healthy--incorporates EVOO, has protein and lots of fiber (plus, recent studies say mediteranean food is the healthiest). If you're watching your carb intake, however, you'll want to look for another recipe or go easy on the serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This was a smashing success at a party I recently attended. So healthy and fresh tasting, and easily moldable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watkins Glen, New York, USA
Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
quick, easy and DELICIOUS! it's like eating chips and salsa...but instead of chips there are beans! even my husband who hates peppers liked it! it was a wonderful dish and i will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
i, like most people, changed it a little bit. i didn't have cilantro, so instead i added 1/4 tsp ground cumin and 1/8 tsp ground ginger, which added a nice twist. I served it with bulgur wheat. BULGUR WHEAT WAS A GREAT CHOICE. i think this recipe is a great starting point for everyone to add their own personal twist without fear of messing it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I increased the lentils to 1 cup and I also used one can of garbanzo beans. We enjoyed eating this with the scoop-shaped Tostitos chips. The olive oil/ lime dressing and the fresh cilantro make this colorful dish special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This is my new obsession. I use black bluga lentils (pre cooked) but do everything else exactly the same. Add cooked chicken for a wonderful, filling, healthy lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JEANSOPHIE
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Flavorful, colorful and crunchy . . . and good for you! I cooked my own chick peas (garbanzo beans) starting with 1/2 cup dried. They were much more tasty than anything from a can and had no added salt or other preservatives. I also added some lime zest to the dressing and used halved grape tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
I think this recipe is good, yeah, but not as good as I expected based on the reviews. I found the lentils only took 10 mins to cook, and were mushy in the salad. Next time I will use half to a full can of lentils instead, as I find that they remain firm. I think additional items such as avocado would be nice, but that probably draws away from the ethnicity of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I used good bell peppers and lots of fresh-squeezed lime in this. The serrano pepper I'd bought got lost somewhere in the fridge, so I had to use canned jalepenos. This was still a wonderful dish that got better the longer it sat. (But it only sat for a day, in spite of the fact that I made a double recipe. It was very popular.) I recommend that you drain the chickpeas and lentils for awhile in a colander in the sink -- this prevented my salad from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States