Moroccan Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
BLAND, though visually and texturally appealing. If you're still determined to make this, then you'll want to DOUBLE the lentils and dress it up with some additional flavor (try balsamic vinegar, pepper, garlic powder, cumin and feta cheese) as it really doesn't taste like anything as-is. In fact, you may as well skip the olive oil and lime juice in favor of a tasty dressing instead. Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is one of the best vegetarian recipes I have ever had!!! So fresh and so many vibrant colors and flavors. I put a little fresh feta on top and added allspice and cumin to the lime juice/oil. Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mblanzaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I made a few changes- I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies to replace the tomatoes and chilies, then I added a second can of dice tomatoes (With no salt). I used a green, orange and red pepper, and then put in/ nibbled on another orange pepper. Not sure how much I used all together, it's always hard to tell in my kitchen! I used a whole can of garbanzo beans. I didn't have any olive oil, so I left that out. SUPER easy to make, very tasty! The flavors were awesome, and I love the crunch of the peppers and the texture the lentils and garbanzo beans added. I LOVED it. THEN! I took the left overs and put them in a flour tortilla with baby spinach leaves and had a super tasty burrito for dinner tonight. The salad tasted so great after sitting for a day in the fridge. Everything just blended together perfectly. I think that the next time I make this I will make extra for a burrito or two, and I think I might make some flax seed tortillas. Definitely, definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was very tasty. I did follow some customized suggestions by adding turmeric, cayenne pepper and curry powder. The lime juice and all of the fresh ingredients, especially the cilantro gave it a wonderful flavor. I'll be making this again and I'm especially looking forward to making it this summer when the vegetables are seasonal. Thank you Hetal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Loved this!!! we didn't have any green chillies or coriander so used red chilli and baby spinach. It was nice and spicey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was really really good. I took it to a potluck and everyone seemed to enjoy it. I like something with a bit more kick and more flavour but I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Really tasty. I also made it with mint instead of cilantro (didn't have it on hand) and a little bit of feta (needed to be used) and it was really tasty that way too! I only put one hot pepper in both times, I think next time I will up it to 2. Over all, this recipe is a great discovery, easy to make and easy to take for lunch/ a quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Echo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Yummy. I just left out the oil. A good idea to strain the lentils and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Beautiful salad but not enough flavor. I added some garlic powder and cayenne after I mixed it according to recipe and that helped somewhat. I'll try it again but will use less peppers and more lentils and chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystal_B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Used yellow and green bell peppers, 2 cans Rotel (it is winter here), added 2 cloves of garlic, subbed black beans for the peas b/c i thought i had some but turns out i didnt. Nice side or veggie main.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States