Moroccan Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Delicious, light, refreshing, simple, and beautiful! We loved this salad. I actually used sprouted lentils, and they made the dish that much fresher and crunchier. I left out the chickpeas, because I forgot to pick some up. If I had used them, I'd have sprouted them, but I think this salad is great without and will not add them in the future. I love how simple the dressing is (I did add 1/4 tsp sea salt)--it really lets the flavors of the veggies come through. Also, it wasn't as hot as I expected--and I used two very large jalapenos--so I wouldn't be too afraid of the hot peppers; just make sure you seed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This is a great salad! I gave this recipe four stars for quickness since I buzzed my veggies through a food processor. The peppers would be more colorful in the dish if chopped larger, but that would add to the time. And it still presented nicely! I added extra cilantro and lime, which was great, and I used very mild peppers. My four year old liked to eat the lentils, but nothing else. My husband and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Great recipe! I didn't follow the exact measurements but used all the ingredients and it turned out great. We served it with Nacho style chips and my kids ate it up. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
This salad was soooo pretty and delicious, I served it with Sesame crackers and it was a huge hit at my ladies luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This is delicious!!! I knew by the ingredients I would love it!!! I put a bit more lentils and chickpeas in it and did not put in hot pepper for my taste buds. Will definitely make it again!!!Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This salad is so pretty and colorful. I added some cooked couscous to this to make it a whole meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Great recipe! I prefer using two red bell peppers and one green. This was even a favorite for my non-veggie liking husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I was looking for a recipe that would use up the large stash of lentils I seemed to have collected. And since it's summer, I didn't want to make a stew or soup. This recipe was surprisingly flavorful. I say surprisingly because the only extra flavoring comes from the lime juice. I didn't include the chickpeas since I was trying to use up as much as I could of my lentils. And I left out of the cilantro as well as I'm not a big fan. I'd definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Wow was this good! The fresh Cilantro was really the star and really brightened the flavor. And the lime just pulled it all together. I made a couple changes because I forgot to buy some ingredients or they were not available. I substituted some sweet onion for the green onion- a red one would have been fine too. Also it's January so there are no real tomatoes on the east coast right now so I used canned tomatoes with jalapeno peppers (well drained) in place of the tomatoes and hot peppers- gave it the perfect amount of heat. This is a definite do again! Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Weymouth Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
This is a delicious and satisfying lentil salad. The only thing I would change would be to not cook the lentils the 30 minutes that were suggested - they turned out a little mushy but firmed up when the salad chilled. It was an awesome accompaniment to my grilled skirt steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States