Moroccan Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I used good bell peppers and lots of fresh-squeezed lime in this. The serrano pepper I'd bought got lost somewhere in the fridge, so I had to use canned jalepenos. This was still a wonderful dish that got better the longer it sat. (But it only sat for a day, in spite of the fact that I made a double recipe. It was very popular.) I recommend that you drain the chickpeas and lentils for awhile in a colander in the sink -- this prevented my salad from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This was great but I did some modifications. I eliminated the olive oil to cut the calories and I added feta cheese in place of that. I also upped the lentils to 1 cup and eliminated the garbanzo beans. I added chooped fresh mint and some white balsamic vinegaar, garlic powder and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Wow was this good! The fresh Cilantro was really the star and really brightened the flavor. And the lime just pulled it all together. I made a couple changes because I forgot to buy some ingredients or they were not available. I substituted some sweet onion for the green onion- a red one would have been fine too. Also it's January so there are no real tomatoes on the east coast right now so I used canned tomatoes with jalapeno peppers (well drained) in place of the tomatoes and hot peppers- gave it the perfect amount of heat. This is a definite do again! Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Weymouth Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This is a great salad! I gave this recipe four stars for quickness since I buzzed my veggies through a food processor. The peppers would be more colorful in the dish if chopped larger, but that would add to the time. And it still presented nicely! I added extra cilantro and lime, which was great, and I used very mild peppers. My four year old liked to eat the lentils, but nothing else. My husband and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I had this salad at a Morrocan themed meal at my book club gathering. It looked beautiful, but it didn't have much flavor...I'm wondering if the pepper was left out? I would try again, though. Don't want to give it a lower rating if something was substituted or left out. I don't think folks should give a low review when they change the recipe, which is something I've observed with some of the reviews on this site. Doesn't seem fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This is delicious!!! I knew by the ingredients I would love it!!! I put a bit more lentils and chickpeas in it and did not put in hot pepper for my taste buds. Will definitely make it again!!!Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
This salad was soooo pretty and delicious, I served it with Sesame crackers and it was a huge hit at my ladies luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Great recipe! I didn't follow the exact measurements but used all the ingredients and it turned out great. We served it with Nacho style chips and my kids ate it up. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
BLAND, though visually and texturally appealing. If you're still determined to make this, then you'll want to DOUBLE the lentils and dress it up with some additional flavor (try balsamic vinegar, pepper, garlic powder, cumin and feta cheese) as it really doesn't taste like anything as-is. In fact, you may as well skip the olive oil and lime juice in favor of a tasty dressing instead. Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
Easy to make, sort of a mix betweeen salsa and bean salad. Very pretty and refreshing. Our kids liked it, but we left out the hot peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States