Moroccan Lentil Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Wow was this good! The fresh Cilantro was really the star and really brightened the flavor. And the lime just pulled it all together. I made a couple changes because I forgot to buy some ingredients or they were not available. I substituted some sweet onion for the green onion- a red one would have been fine too. Also it's January so there are no real tomatoes on the east coast right now so I used canned tomatoes with jalapeno peppers (well drained) in place of the tomatoes and hot peppers- gave it the perfect amount of heat. This is a definite do again! Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Weymouth Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Initally I thought it was a bit bland. So I added 1/2 chopped red onion,a little rice wine vinegar and a can of diced tomatoes. It was great on a bed of greens. Very fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I was looking for a recipe that would use up the large stash of lentils I seemed to have collected. And since it's summer, I didn't want to make a stew or soup. This recipe was surprisingly flavorful. I say surprisingly because the only extra flavoring comes from the lime juice. I didn't include the chickpeas since I was trying to use up as much as I could of my lentils. And I left out of the cilantro as well as I'm not a big fan. I'd definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Great recipe! I prefer using two red bell peppers and one green. This was even a favorite for my non-veggie liking husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Delicious, light, refreshing, simple, and beautiful! We loved this salad. I actually used sprouted lentils, and they made the dish that much fresher and crunchier. I left out the chickpeas, because I forgot to pick some up. If I had used them, I'd have sprouted them, but I think this salad is great without and will not add them in the future. I love how simple the dressing is (I did add 1/4 tsp sea salt)--it really lets the flavors of the veggies come through. Also, it wasn't as hot as I expected--and I used two very large jalapenos--so I wouldn't be too afraid of the hot peppers; just make sure you seed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I had this salad at a Morrocan themed meal at my book club gathering. It looked beautiful, but it didn't have much flavor...I'm wondering if the pepper was left out? I would try again, though. Don't want to give it a lower rating if something was substituted or left out. I don't think folks should give a low review when they change the recipe, which is something I've observed with some of the reviews on this site. Doesn't seem fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I made this without the hot peppers and I added a sundried tomato couscous. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I liked the recipe very colorful however, I slim down on the chick peas. My husband is Moroccan and he didn't recogonize this recipe. Has this recipe been modified?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
This salad is so pretty and colorful. I added some cooked couscous to this to make it a whole meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
This is delicious!!! I knew by the ingredients I would love it!!! I put a bit more lentils and chickpeas in it and did not put in hot pepper for my taste buds. Will definitely make it again!!!Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Chopped Cashew Salad

A colorful, crunchy salad loaded with good stuff like avocados, grapes, and nuts.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States