Moroccan Lamb with Shiraz Honey Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This was an excellent recipe for lamb chops. There are many recipes for the ras el hanout (many that require saffron - which I don't have). I took a basic recipe and modified it with spices I had on hand. This is what I used: Ras El Hanout alla Mark 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon 3 teaspoons ground cumin 2 teaspoons ground coriander 2 teaspoons ground ginger 2 teaspoons ground cardamom 1 teaspoon ground allspice 1 teaspoon ground cloves 1 teaspoon mace 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper 1 teaspoon garlic powder 1 teaspoon dill 1 teaspoon ground black pepper 1 teaspoon Kosher Salt The cinnamon, cumin and red pepper are what are really required, everything else adds to the "complexity" of the flavor. The Shiraz honey reduction was very good (and easy to make) although it took about 20 minutes to reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This dish was simply outstanding. I made my own ras el hanout from (mostly) whole spices. Also, 145 degrees as an internal temperature is probably as well-done as you should cook rack of lamb. 130 degrees is medium and 145 is more like medium-well. I'd suggest just cooking to 130 or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This recipe was delicious - thank you so much for introducing me to this wonderful spice! I actually used boneless leg of lamb for a meatier cut, therefore changing the cooking directions accordingly and using a little more spice. I even had no trouble finding the spice at my local grocery store (I do live in a big city though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Amazing. I have been meaning to try this recipe for more than 2 years, and I am so glad I finally did! I had to make my own spice mix (http://www.theepicentre.com/Spices/raselhanout.html) because I couldn't find it in stores, and it turned out well. The lamb was tender and flavorful, and the sauce...oh the sauce...my friend kept saying she wanted to drink it. Delicious! Definitely will be making it again! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I almost didn't leave a review for this because I used it on pork & don't want to offend anybody. Accept my apologies in advance if I have done so. Anyway, I had some leftover pork medallions (seasoned w/ a bit of salt & pepper & sauteed in EVOO) & thought I would try this glaze on them. Just for grins, I also made the ras el hanout (googled a recipe) & sprinkled a bit on a couple of the medallions before I reheated them. (I sprinkled them w/ some water to keep them from drying out, then the spices, then heated them in a 350 degree oven for about 15 minutes while I prepared the glaze). The medallions that didn't have the spices were too sweet from the glaze (it reminded me of a grape jelly glaze but I'm sure the addition of meat drippings, which I didn't use, would add an extra dimension of flavor) but the ones w/ the spices were wonderful! We loved the spices w/ the glaze...I'm so glad I tried it on pork. I served it w/ curried shrimp bisque & a salad w/ hot buttered apple cider for dessert. Thnaks for a very enjoyable recipe, Lissa Metz-Gomez!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I would give this 10 stars if I could. This was the best lamb I ever ate, although it was a little rare and we had to nuke the chops a little. Next time I will cook it longer (or find my thermometer). I had to make my own ras el hanout -- using the recipe with the cumin. I have practically been dreaming about it ever since! I would get a head start on that wine reduction sauce though, it takes a while to cook. Also I cut the sauce recipe in half because I always have sauce leftover (maybe I just don't cook it long enough).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCOFFELT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Amazing dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tabs
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was absolutely fantastic. I never add any reviews but decided to add the review for this one as it is such a great recipe but has very few reviews. Minor things I did differently - rubbed the rack of lamb with a bit of olive oil before seasoning and added a bit more honey to the sauce (might not be suited to everyone's taste). I used oil because the seasoning was not sticking on without it. I also added a bit of olive oil in the pan for searing. It was perfect - no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Amazing! I mixed the spices myself for the ras el hanout and it turned out great! Think I might try it on some chiken next time to try and make it healthier though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is crazy good! I made this for a dinner party and even guests who didn't think that they'd like lamb loved it. I'm definately going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States