Moroccan Lamb with Shiraz Honey Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This was sooo flavorful and the wine reduction really makes you look gourmet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This is officially my favorite Lamb Dish of All Time. The ras el-hanout added spectacular flavor and the sauce was a silky pot of yum. I'm always thrilled to find a recipe that delivers this much flavor for so little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Wow! This was so easy and absolutely delicious! I couldn't find Ras el hanout at my spice shop, but there are tons of recipes for it on the net, so I just read a handful and improvised with what I had on hand and now I've got a new favorite blend for all sorts of dishes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This was an excellent recipe for lamb chops. There are many recipes for the ras el hanout (many that require saffron - which I don't have). I took a basic recipe and modified it with spices I had on hand. This is what I used: Ras El Hanout alla Mark 3 teaspoons ground cinnamon 3 teaspoons ground cumin 2 teaspoons ground coriander 2 teaspoons ground ginger 2 teaspoons ground cardamom 1 teaspoon ground allspice 1 teaspoon ground cloves 1 teaspoon mace 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper 1 teaspoon garlic powder 1 teaspoon dill 1 teaspoon ground black pepper 1 teaspoon Kosher Salt The cinnamon, cumin and red pepper are what are really required, everything else adds to the "complexity" of the flavor. The Shiraz honey reduction was very good (and easy to make) although it took about 20 minutes to reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I almost didn't leave a review for this because I used it on pork & don't want to offend anybody. Accept my apologies in advance if I have done so. Anyway, I had some leftover pork medallions (seasoned w/ a bit of salt & pepper & sauteed in EVOO) & thought I would try this glaze on them. Just for grins, I also made the ras el hanout (googled a recipe) & sprinkled a bit on a couple of the medallions before I reheated them. (I sprinkled them w/ some water to keep them from drying out, then the spices, then heated them in a 350 degree oven for about 15 minutes while I prepared the glaze). The medallions that didn't have the spices were too sweet from the glaze (it reminded me of a grape jelly glaze but I'm sure the addition of meat drippings, which I didn't use, would add an extra dimension of flavor) but the ones w/ the spices were wonderful! We loved the spices w/ the glaze...I'm so glad I tried it on pork. I served it w/ curried shrimp bisque & a salad w/ hot buttered apple cider for dessert. Thnaks for a very enjoyable recipe, Lissa Metz-Gomez!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This was so simple to prepare & yet it's truly one of the best lamb recipes I've ever come across! Spice recipe took a little research to obtain although well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Invergordon, Ross-Shire, Scotland, U.K.
Living In: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This dish was simply outstanding. I made my own ras el hanout from (mostly) whole spices. Also, 145 degrees as an internal temperature is probably as well-done as you should cook rack of lamb. 130 degrees is medium and 145 is more like medium-well. I'd suggest just cooking to 130 or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This recipe was delicious - thank you so much for introducing me to this wonderful spice! I actually used boneless leg of lamb for a meatier cut, therefore changing the cooking directions accordingly and using a little more spice. I even had no trouble finding the spice at my local grocery store (I do live in a big city though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States