Moroccan Lamb with Shiraz Honey Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
We made this for an impromptu Christmas Eve dinner with friends. We decided to substitute a pork loin for the lamb since it was more cost effective and would feed our small crowd. My husband already had a Ras el Hanout spice mix on hand that he's been experimenting with so this was perfect. He also added some pre-made au jus that was in our fridge to add more richness to the sauce. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pyrofemme

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Thanks for the fabulous recipe. DH said best meal he's eaten in months! I looked at the ingredients for the spice blend which another reviewer posted and checked the label on the garam masala (indian spice blend) in my spice cabinet, and it was almost identical. I just added a little more cinnamon to the garam masala, and it worked perfectly. There was extra spice left after I coated the lamb, so I threw the rest in with the basmati rice I was cooking along w/ some peas--it was great with the lamb. If you like your meat rarer, try 20 minutes cooking time; that was perfect for us. We love shiraz, but already had cab open, so used cab in the sauce. The sauce was excellent! Make sure to reduce it to a thick sauce; mine turned out really rich and thick, almost like a great aged balsalmic vinegar-yummmm! Thanks for sharing a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Fantastic! Just the right blend of spicy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
As soon as I saw this recipe I had to make it, but I didn't have lamb on hand. So I made it with chicken breasts. It was phenomenal. Watch out because the sauce is so sweet, you just need a dribble - I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Amazing. I have been meaning to try this recipe for more than 2 years, and I am so glad I finally did! I had to make my own spice mix (http://www.theepicentre.com/Spices/raselhanout.html) because I couldn't find it in stores, and it turned out well. The lamb was tender and flavorful, and the sauce...oh the sauce...my friend kept saying she wanted to drink it. Delicious! Definitely will be making it again! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
We also made the ras el hanout mixture similar to one of the other reviewers. This is the first time we've cooked lamb and it turned out excellent! After searing it we put it on a rottiserie grill. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is crazy good! I made this for a dinner party and even guests who didn't think that they'd like lamb loved it. I'm definately going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I liked this recipe. I have to say I found on the internet the Ras al Hanout but I made enough to last forever and share. I probably put too much on the lamb, which I boned out for simplicity later. My Husband scraped off the seasoning and then he thought the lamb was great. I did love the Shiraz Honey Sauce. I would make this again but will use a bit less of the seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This was spectacular. I made it with an online recipe for ras el hanout. You need to keep the lamb warm while you are reducing the sauce - it takes 20 or 30 minutes to get it really syrupy. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I actually applied the rub to chicken, not lamb and cooked it accordingly, but I must say, that wine/honey sauce with this blend of spices is AMAZING! I just wish I'd been introduced to it sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States