Moroccan Lamb with Shiraz Honey Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by wruwtrix
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I did this with a leg of lamb on my grill's rotisserie. I overcooked the lamb slightly (medium-well) and it was still possibly the best lamb dish I've ever had. I subbed a nice Cabernet for the Shiraz in the sauce. I do recommend putting the drippings/juices from the lamb into the sauce. It was really superb. I made my ras el hanout from this recipe, and we thought it turned out great: http://www.food.com/recipe/ras-el-hanout-moroccan-spice-mix-262189
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This is a warm wondetful dish that my whole family enjoyed. The recipe would work well with beef ribs also. The shiraz honey sauce is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This is one of my top 3 favorite lamb recipes of all time. I went online and ordered this special spice just so I could make this recipe and it was so worth it. I have made this many times and there is never anything left over. We end up sucking on the bones and licking our plates! The only time it failed was when I was in a hurry and I reduced the wine-honey mixture at too high of a temperature and the sugar ended up hardening after pouring the sauce on the lamb. We ended up with candied lamb! Oops! So be patient and reduce the wine-honey mixture over medium heat as it says, never high!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adair County, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Truly amazing dinner. the Ras el Hanout combined with the red wine honey reduction leaves you wanting more and more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Best rack of lamb ever! I made my own raw el hanout seasoning mix using the suggestions made by mdelduke in her review. However, I used whole coriander, cumin, cloves, allspice, and a peppercorn. I dry roasted them until they were fragrant and then grounded them and added the other spices. I also reduced the amount for the whole spices. We didm't have any Shiraz so I just used a nice red wine. The combination of the sweet sauce with the flavorful spices on the lamb was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Munich, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I googled a few ras el hanout recipes and created my own for this dish.I preseasoned with the ras el hanout and added onion and garlic powders. I enjoyed the lamb with rosemary sweet potatoes with the sauce drizzled on the lamb and sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This is the most amazing dish! My husband drools whenever I mention the word lamb because of this recipe. It is a huge hit in our house! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Valentine

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JacobJ
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was fantastic. It looked too easy so I was skeptical, but it was actually amazing. Ras El Hanout was hard to find - but I managed to get some at Cost Plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacobJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Moorpark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I cook with and for my bf and I have never gotten such a rave review as I did with this dish. Thank you LotusX for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This recipe will make your toes curl in ecstasy, it's really that good. I made it for a morrocan themed dinner and wowed my guests. It went particularly well with the dessert: bacon wraped, blue cheese stuffed... dates. I used store bought Ras el Hanout and followed the recipe closely, although I switched up the meat from all ribs to half ribs and half chops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States