Moroccan Fig Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was one of the best roasts ever. My husband and children loved it. However, beware--it has an Indian flavor that doesn't appeal to everyone. The only change I made was a fig preserve substitution for fig compote. I added a little water to thin the preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This makes a wonderfully flavored moist, tender roast! I made followed the recipe as is, and wouldn't change a thing! Definitely landed a spot on my meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Overall I enjoyed this recipe, and would really give it 41/2 stars. Like others I served with couscous, added raisins and other dried fruits to the sauce. The next time I make this I'm going to try it with bone-in, skin on chicken thighs and increase the spices. I would serve this at a dinner party if I knew the guests appreciated ethnic food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I gave this a try last night. I put the rub on the meat about an hour before cooking and did everything else exactly as instructed. This was so easy and turned out absolutely delicious! I would recommend cutting it into pieces and serving it over rice with some of the juices and tasty bits poured on top. In fact, now that I have told you how good it is I'm going to finish up the leftovers! This is my new favorite way to cook a pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Good, my husband and 3 year old daughter enjoyed this dish. I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixponies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I can't understand why this got such great ratings. It tasted like a roast covered in sand! I followed the recipe exactly. I expected spicy flavor. I got brown tasteless boiled meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was such a good sauce! My roast was only a scant two pounds, so it really got coated well with only half the seasoning mix (saved the rest) and I let it sit for about 1.5 hrs on the counter to come to room temp with the seasoning on it. I added some prunes to the sauce, used a fig/lemon jam (a little extra too). I'm just sorry I didn't have a bigger roast since it only made 4 small portions. Served over a couscous/quinoa/veggie blend from the HEB freezer, and it was a hit. Hubby normally doesn't care for anything too exotic, but cleaned his plate on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is amazingly delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexi Marie
Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
One of the best meals I've ever made! The pork comes out SO moist. I made up my own garam masala and fig compote just by searching the internet for substitutes, and I also finished it off in a crock pot on high for 2.5 hrs (for a 2.5 lb roast). Even with these minor alterations, it was fabulous! I also kept all the other proportions the same despite reducing the roast to 2.5 lbs. You won't regret making this...especially for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This is the best recipe ever!! I've tweaked it a little to make it so much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States