Moroccan Fig Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I followed the directions to a T (wrong..forgot I only used half the chili powder) and it turned out great. I don't own a dutch oven so I seared the meat in a frying pan, moved the meat to another oven safe container and did the onions, garlic and then the fig sauce. Used aluminum to "tent" the pork roast and cooked 1 hr 50 minutes and my meat was great. Was less than 5 lbs however. Kids ate their portion and although it had a great flavor it wasn't overly spicy for their liking. Hubby and myself liked the meal a lot and hope to add this to our meal rotation. Love trying new meals and the flavor profile to this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I did this with a pork tenderloin and it was delicious. Used the moroccan flavored couscous from this site and the sauce from this on the couscous was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This looks delicious, however should not include "Moroccan" in the name, as Morocco is a Muslim country where the general population doesn't eat pork. If you were to find an individual Moroccan family who ate pork, they would be the exception, but definitely not representing the culture as a whole. We live in Spain, as my husband's work sends him frequently to Morocco and we have many, many Moroccan friends and acquaintances. Sometimes it's good to use a little bit of discretion as we advertise dishes as being "ethnic" or "authentic" from a particular country--in order to avoid confusing others at the very least. Still, it looks delicious and would love to try it some time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was one of the best roasts ever. My husband and children loved it. However, beware--it has an Indian flavor that doesn't appeal to everyone. The only change I made was a fig preserve substitution for fig compote. I added a little water to thin the preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This makes a wonderfully flavored moist, tender roast! I made followed the recipe as is, and wouldn't change a thing! Definitely landed a spot on my meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Overall I enjoyed this recipe, and would really give it 41/2 stars. Like others I served with couscous, added raisins and other dried fruits to the sauce. The next time I make this I'm going to try it with bone-in, skin on chicken thighs and increase the spices. I would serve this at a dinner party if I knew the guests appreciated ethnic food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I gave this a try last night. I put the rub on the meat about an hour before cooking and did everything else exactly as instructed. This was so easy and turned out absolutely delicious! I would recommend cutting it into pieces and serving it over rice with some of the juices and tasty bits poured on top. In fact, now that I have told you how good it is I'm going to finish up the leftovers! This is my new favorite way to cook a pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Good, my husband and 3 year old daughter enjoyed this dish. I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixponies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I can't understand why this got such great ratings. It tasted like a roast covered in sand! I followed the recipe exactly. I expected spicy flavor. I got brown tasteless boiled meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was such a good sauce! My roast was only a scant two pounds, so it really got coated well with only half the seasoning mix (saved the rest) and I let it sit for about 1.5 hrs on the counter to come to room temp with the seasoning on it. I added some prunes to the sauce, used a fig/lemon jam (a little extra too). I'm just sorry I didn't have a bigger roast since it only made 4 small portions. Served over a couscous/quinoa/veggie blend from the HEB freezer, and it was a hit. Hubby normally doesn't care for anything too exotic, but cleaned his plate on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States