Moroccan Fig Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was one of the best roasts ever. My husband and children loved it. However, beware--it has an Indian flavor that doesn't appeal to everyone. The only change I made was a fig preserve substitution for fig compote. I added a little water to thin the preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This makes a wonderfully flavored moist, tender roast! I made followed the recipe as is, and wouldn't change a thing! Definitely landed a spot on my meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Overall I enjoyed this recipe, and would really give it 41/2 stars. Like others I served with couscous, added raisins and other dried fruits to the sauce. The next time I make this I'm going to try it with bone-in, skin on chicken thighs and increase the spices. I would serve this at a dinner party if I knew the guests appreciated ethnic food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I gave this a try last night. I put the rub on the meat about an hour before cooking and did everything else exactly as instructed. This was so easy and turned out absolutely delicious! I would recommend cutting it into pieces and serving it over rice with some of the juices and tasty bits poured on top. In fact, now that I have told you how good it is I'm going to finish up the leftovers! This is my new favorite way to cook a pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Good, my husband and 3 year old daughter enjoyed this dish. I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixponies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I can't understand why this got such great ratings. It tasted like a roast covered in sand! I followed the recipe exactly. I expected spicy flavor. I got brown tasteless boiled meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was such a good sauce! My roast was only a scant two pounds, so it really got coated well with only half the seasoning mix (saved the rest) and I let it sit for about 1.5 hrs on the counter to come to room temp with the seasoning on it. I added some prunes to the sauce, used a fig/lemon jam (a little extra too). I'm just sorry I didn't have a bigger roast since it only made 4 small portions. Served over a couscous/quinoa/veggie blend from the HEB freezer, and it was a hit. Hubby normally doesn't care for anything too exotic, but cleaned his plate on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is amazingly delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexi Marie
Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
One of the best meals I've ever made! The pork comes out SO moist. I made up my own garam masala and fig compote just by searching the internet for substitutes, and I also finished it off in a crock pot on high for 2.5 hrs (for a 2.5 lb roast). Even with these minor alterations, it was fabulous! I also kept all the other proportions the same despite reducing the roast to 2.5 lbs. You won't regret making this...especially for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This is the best recipe ever!! I've tweaked it a little to make it so much better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States