Moroccan Fig Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Seeing as my review is the only one I am not sure why this recipe has a 1 star rating. With that said this was a very tasty dish which gave me wonderful ideas! First the combination of seasonings in here superb, the sauce is wonderful. The pork (which I used 2lb) is thick enough that it either needs to be brined for a few hours or rubbed with kosher salt the night before. The method in which this is prepared would make a wonderful chicken or beef stew. Don't pass this up and with the exception of the salt, don't change anything, especially the cooking preparation! **I also substituted apricot preserves this time for the fig compote**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I had around a 2.5-3 lb pork roast, it only took an hour in the oven at 350. I didn't have garam masala or tumeric on hand, so I skipped them. Also even though my pork roast was half the size of the recipe, I kept all the other measurements the same. It was really fabulous. So good, and so easy. I did as one of the reviewers said, and coated the roast in kosher salt overnight. I only had a chance to immediately cook the roast after applying the rub. Next time, I will let the roast sit with the rub on for an hour or so before preparing. I also think this would be awesome with a turkey breast, or turkey tenderloins. I would make this for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLINKETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This a now one of our favorite recipes! We have our own fig tree in our backyard & this is a wonderful recipe to use them in place of the fig compote. We paired this with plain couscous & put the sauce over it and also had steamed broccoli. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Just made this tonight and it was delicious! Instead of finishing the recipe in a dutch oven as per recipe I used a slow cooker and added some potatoes to make sure my sauce wasn't runny. Fabulous recipe, a great winter dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
OOPS! I took out of the freezer what I thought was a small pork roast. Turned out it was 2 lbs. of pork stew-sized pieces. Went ahead and seasoned per receipe and was delighted with the stew! One hour at 350 degrees was adequeate. Served over vegetable couscous. My husband was thrilled as we enjoy savory dishes the most. Will serve again this winter! Thank you michtrem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Love this recipe! The only ting I did different was add some raisins with the chicken broth and tomatoes for an added sweetness to the fig. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RhondaT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Juicy and loads of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Good, my husband and 3 year old daughter enjoyed this dish. I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixponies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This was such a good sauce! My roast was only a scant two pounds, so it really got coated well with only half the seasoning mix (saved the rest) and I let it sit for about 1.5 hrs on the counter to come to room temp with the seasoning on it. I added some prunes to the sauce, used a fig/lemon jam (a little extra too). I'm just sorry I didn't have a bigger roast since it only made 4 small portions. Served over a couscous/quinoa/veggie blend from the HEB freezer, and it was a hit. Hubby normally doesn't care for anything too exotic, but cleaned his plate on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is the best meal I've ever made. I made it twice. The first time, in a slow cooker and it came out way too dry. The second time, I brined the meat overnight and cooked it according to the directions. I used a pork shoulder and made my own garam masala cuz it's hard to find. Such an incredible dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States