Moroccan Fig Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This recipe tastes great. The biggest problem for me was the smell of curry in my house for 4 days after. These are really pungent spices, so you better like that smell! I probably wouldn't make again only because of the lingering smell. The fig compote is hard to find so I made my own. Took dried figs and re-constituted in water, then chopped up and cooked with baking splenda and the soaking water. I used more than the recipe called for - maybe a 1/4 cup of compote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Delicious! I halved the pork and made a 2.5lb roast, so I used 1/2 the spices while keeping the gravy ingredients that same amount. I rubbed the spice mixture onto the roast and let it sit for several hours in the fridge to enhance the flavor. Wonderful served over couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
The smell and taste of this dish was excellent. My choice of Pork Roast was not. Next time will try a different type of roast. Also did not have garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Love this recipe! The only ting I did different was add some raisins with the chicken broth and tomatoes for an added sweetness to the fig. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RhondaT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Just made this tonight and it was delicious! Instead of finishing the recipe in a dutch oven as per recipe I used a slow cooker and added some potatoes to make sure my sauce wasn't runny. Fabulous recipe, a great winter dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
OOPS! I took out of the freezer what I thought was a small pork roast. Turned out it was 2 lbs. of pork stew-sized pieces. Went ahead and seasoned per receipe and was delighted with the stew! One hour at 350 degrees was adequeate. Served over vegetable couscous. My husband was thrilled as we enjoy savory dishes the most. Will serve again this winter! Thank you michtrem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I had around a 2.5-3 lb pork roast, it only took an hour in the oven at 350. I didn't have garam masala or tumeric on hand, so I skipped them. Also even though my pork roast was half the size of the recipe, I kept all the other measurements the same. It was really fabulous. So good, and so easy. I did as one of the reviewers said, and coated the roast in kosher salt overnight. I only had a chance to immediately cook the roast after applying the rub. Next time, I will let the roast sit with the rub on for an hour or so before preparing. I also think this would be awesome with a turkey breast, or turkey tenderloins. I would make this for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLINKETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This a now one of our favorite recipes! We have our own fig tree in our backyard & this is a wonderful recipe to use them in place of the fig compote. We paired this with plain couscous & put the sauce over it and also had steamed broccoli. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Seeing as my review is the only one I am not sure why this recipe has a 1 star rating. With that said this was a very tasty dish which gave me wonderful ideas! First the combination of seasonings in here superb, the sauce is wonderful. The pork (which I used 2lb) is thick enough that it either needs to be brined for a few hours or rubbed with kosher salt the night before. The method in which this is prepared would make a wonderful chicken or beef stew. Don't pass this up and with the exception of the salt, don't change anything, especially the cooking preparation! **I also substituted apricot preserves this time for the fig compote**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States