Moroccan Fig Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
love it , i cant taste the fig but still excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is the best meal I've ever made. I made it twice. The first time, in a slow cooker and it came out way too dry. The second time, I brined the meat overnight and cooked it according to the directions. I used a pork shoulder and made my own garam masala cuz it's hard to find. Such an incredible dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I thought this recipe was wonderful. It tasted like dishes I've had at Moroccan restaurants. I made fig compote by simmering chopped mission figs in some water, red wine and brown sugar for 10 minutes then mashing them with a potato masher. I also blended the sauce at the end with a stick blender. Saved the leftover sauce to serve with other meals. Will try this with chicken next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Fantastic flavor. I followed the recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Made this for my family and they loved it! I also added some orange marmalade but deleted the curry powder. garam masala, chili powder and the ground tumeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was delicious. I served this to company with the Ethiopian Cabbage recipe on this site and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Juicy and loads of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This recipe tastes great. The biggest problem for me was the smell of curry in my house for 4 days after. These are really pungent spices, so you better like that smell! I probably wouldn't make again only because of the lingering smell. The fig compote is hard to find so I made my own. Took dried figs and re-constituted in water, then chopped up and cooked with baking splenda and the soaking water. I used more than the recipe called for - maybe a 1/4 cup of compote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Delicious! I halved the pork and made a 2.5lb roast, so I used 1/2 the spices while keeping the gravy ingredients that same amount. I rubbed the spice mixture onto the roast and let it sit for several hours in the fridge to enhance the flavor. Wonderful served over couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
The smell and taste of this dish was excellent. My choice of Pork Roast was not. Next time will try a different type of roast. Also did not have garam masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States