Moroccan Chickpea Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
These flavors go nicely with fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I added more of what I had (spinach instead of kale) but kept the initial recipe intact and loved it. With the leftovers the next day,I added carrots,more spices and canned lite coconut milk! WOW! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MtnNanny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Was looking for something very delicious and different. Wow! Did this fit the bill! Sauteed fresh jalapeno in with the onions and garlic for extra punch. Used one and a half fresh tomatoes as I didn't have canned. Used curry and other spices but not ground coriander as I didn't have, but also added Thai spice blend that I had in my pantry. Used regular raisins, not golden. I used four potatoes, but they really needed a lot of time to get soft. (Maybe time differs with types of potatoes?) Threw in some frozen carrots for extra eye appeal and to balance the spices. In any case, this was my first recipe ever cooking with kale. Loved it, loved it, loved it. My vegetarian son gives this two thumbs up! A keeper and one that will be integrated into meal rotation! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
YUM!Substituted spinach for Kale. Didn't have coriander, found recipe for garam masala in all recipes, used regular raisins and reduced amount of cayenne pepper by half, increased cumin to double. Topped with dollop of Greek non fat yougert, cilantro a must!!!! Hubby and I Loved it bursting with flavor..better next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I find it is a recipe that you can do a lot with and experiment. For instance, instead of using diced tomatoes and kale I put in salsa and spinach, scrumptious! I also found it took a bit more cooking time than the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This recipe is amazing!!! The flavors and textures are all exquisite! The kale adds a nice green color to the red of the tomatoes and the white potatoes and chick peas. I am not a vegetarian, but do enjoy a good vegetarian dish with North African-type spices. This one I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Awesome dish. We use half sweet potatoes and half white or purple potatoes - the sweet potatoes compliment the bitterness of the kale. Add some carrots and sauté for a half hour (or a bit more with a double recipe). We serve it over rice and double the recipe since we love leftovers for easy lunches. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Agreed, requires more time for the potatoes. Also, it needed some slow cooking at the end to reduce down the sauce, too much water for my liking (didn't add any extra water at all). Otherwise, it was delicious. I left out the curry powder, garam masala and cilantro, substituted cranberries for the raisins, and used red potatoes and yams. Good blend of flavors; it was spicy and hearty, with sweetness mixed in. The kale added a nice texture and bite. I could easily eat it by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This dish was spectacular! Great flavor and perfect amount of spice! The raisins are delicious in here. I made some rice to go along with it and fed this to my one-year-old son who gobbled it up. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This was delicious, and a great way to use kale! I used only one potato, subbed chicken broth for tomato sauce, used chopped fresh tomatoes instead of canned and added more chopped garlic and cilantro. Only other change I'll make next time is to double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States