Moroccan Chickpea Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Awesome dish. We use half sweet potatoes and half white or purple potatoes - the sweet potatoes compliment the bitterness of the kale. Add some carrots and sauté for a half hour (or a bit more with a double recipe). We serve it over rice and double the recipe since we love leftovers for easy lunches. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This dish was spectacular! Great flavor and perfect amount of spice! The raisins are delicious in here. I made some rice to go along with it and fed this to my one-year-old son who gobbled it up. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This was delicious, and a great way to use kale! I used only one potato, subbed chicken broth for tomato sauce, used chopped fresh tomatoes instead of canned and added more chopped garlic and cilantro. Only other change I'll make next time is to double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This stew was delicious! I used the ingredients search tool to find something where I could use the kale and cilantro I had on hand. I was so happy to find this healthy and tasty stew. I substituted carrots for the potatoes and I added a can of chicken broth instead of tomato sauce (I loved that this made the stew more soupy - and I didn't have any tomato sauce). I didn't have any raisins, but I'll try that next time. The curry seasonings were so good. The cilantro on top added the finishing touch. I'm starting to really appreciate kale. Thanks Mari.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
A++++ This recipe is AMAZING!!! I do agree with one of the other reviewer's, this recipe does require more cooking time. Especially for the potatoes to get soft. I did change 2 things. I used fire-roasted tomatoes instead of regular diced tomatoes. I couldn't find garam masala, I used Shaan Chana Masala from the Indian Store and I think it worked out fine. I paired this recipe with rice. I will definitely make this over and over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This is an amazing recipe! I did have to cook it longer to soften the potatoes, but it was delicious and I will definitely be making this again. All of the spices combined with the sweetness of the raisins created a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Very flavorful, great balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Yum! I'm attempting to eat healthier and incorporate less meat into my family’s diets. Recipes like this make it easier for sure. I forgot the cayenne and didn't have cilantro and it was still great - the flavors were complex and delicious and even the hubs thought it was a satisfying meal. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fruitchip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
We don't live in a place where kale is available, so we had to omit it. Otherwise we followed the instructions (also added a carrot, which was a nice addition) and really liked the flavor and mixture a lot. As an afterthought we added chopped dried apricots, which often seem to be included in such Moroccan dishes. We'll make it again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
My husband and I both really liked this, and it will be in our regular dinner rotation now. It made more than four servings, so we had more leftovers than planned. Not a problem, though, as this reheats beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States