Moroccan Chickpea Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This requires more cooking time for the flavours to become friends with each other; and also for the kale to cook and the chick peas to soften a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by God

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This stew was delicious! I used the ingredients search tool to find something where I could use the kale and cilantro I had on hand. I was so happy to find this healthy and tasty stew. I substituted carrots for the potatoes and I added a can of chicken broth instead of tomato sauce (I loved that this made the stew more soupy - and I didn't have any tomato sauce). I didn't have any raisins, but I'll try that next time. The curry seasonings were so good. The cilantro on top added the finishing touch. I'm starting to really appreciate kale. Thanks Mari.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
A++++ This recipe is AMAZING!!! I do agree with one of the other reviewer's, this recipe does require more cooking time. Especially for the potatoes to get soft. I did change 2 things. I used fire-roasted tomatoes instead of regular diced tomatoes. I couldn't find garam masala, I used Shaan Chana Masala from the Indian Store and I think it worked out fine. I paired this recipe with rice. I will definitely make this over and over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This is an amazing recipe! I did have to cook it longer to soften the potatoes, but it was delicious and I will definitely be making this again. All of the spices combined with the sweetness of the raisins created a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I added more of what I had (spinach instead of kale) but kept the initial recipe intact and loved it. With the leftovers the next day,I added carrots,more spices and canned lite coconut milk! WOW! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Blair Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Yum! I'm attempting to eat healthier and incorporate less meat into my family’s diets. Recipes like this make it easier for sure. I forgot the cayenne and didn't have cilantro and it was still great - the flavors were complex and delicious and even the hubs thought it was a satisfying meal. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fruitchip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Amazing veggie food. It takes an extra bowl, but it still fills you up because of the potatoes and chickpeas. Very flavorful, and great as is, but I'd imagine it's a great side to a meal or if you tossed some meat in it'd be just as good or better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This was great-- I used a quart of home-canned crushed tomatoes and some homemade "rotel"(with plenty of roasted pablanos) instead of the tomato sauce and diced tomatoes, used vegetable broth instead of water, and sweet potatoes instead of potatoes. I also omitted the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
i was looking for a soup recipe that was nontraditional as i had been sick for a few days and was getting tired of the same old chicken noodle/veggie soups.. i was intrigued by the spices and mostly made this for the broth.. my modifications were to use one potato, two carrots, two stalks celery, half a large red and green bell pepper, add some fresh slices of ginger, omit the tomato sauce and raisins, and instead of adding water i used chicken broth, i subbed three bone in skinless chicken thighs for the chickpeas and spinach for the kale--which i had forgotten to add until i was down to the last two bowls of soup, along with the cilantro.. doh!.. even with all the changes i had to make for what was left in the house, this came out tasting very good and gave me something fortifying to eat while trying to recover from this nasty cold.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Was looking for something very delicious and different. Wow! Did this fit the bill! Sauteed fresh jalapeno in with the onions and garlic for extra punch. Used one and a half fresh tomatoes as I didn't have canned. Used curry and other spices but not ground coriander as I didn't have, but also added Thai spice blend that I had in my pantry. Used regular raisins, not golden. I used four potatoes, but they really needed a lot of time to get soft. (Maybe time differs with types of potatoes?) Threw in some frozen carrots for extra eye appeal and to balance the spices. In any case, this was my first recipe ever cooking with kale. Loved it, loved it, loved it. My vegetarian son gives this two thumbs up! A keeper and one that will be integrated into meal rotation! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States