Moroccan Chickpea Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This requires more cooking time for the flavours to become friends with each other; and also for the kale to cook and the chick peas to soften a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by God

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This stew was delicious! I used the ingredients search tool to find something where I could use the kale and cilantro I had on hand. I was so happy to find this healthy and tasty stew. I substituted carrots for the potatoes and I added a can of chicken broth instead of tomato sauce (I loved that this made the stew more soupy - and I didn't have any tomato sauce). I didn't have any raisins, but I'll try that next time. The curry seasonings were so good. The cilantro on top added the finishing touch. I'm starting to really appreciate kale. Thanks Mari.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
A++++ This recipe is AMAZING!!! I do agree with one of the other reviewer's, this recipe does require more cooking time. Especially for the potatoes to get soft. I did change 2 things. I used fire-roasted tomatoes instead of regular diced tomatoes. I couldn't find garam masala, I used Shaan Chana Masala from the Indian Store and I think it worked out fine. I paired this recipe with rice. I will definitely make this over and over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This is an amazing recipe! I did have to cook it longer to soften the potatoes, but it was delicious and I will definitely be making this again. All of the spices combined with the sweetness of the raisins created a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Yum! I'm attempting to eat healthier and incorporate less meat into my family’s diets. Recipes like this make it easier for sure. I forgot the cayenne and didn't have cilantro and it was still great - the flavors were complex and delicious and even the hubs thought it was a satisfying meal. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fruitchip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Amazing veggie food. It takes an extra bowl, but it still fills you up because of the potatoes and chickpeas. Very flavorful, and great as is, but I'd imagine it's a great side to a meal or if you tossed some meat in it'd be just as good or better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I added more of what I had (spinach instead of kale) but kept the initial recipe intact and loved it. With the leftovers the next day,I added carrots,more spices and canned lite coconut milk! WOW! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MtnNanny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Was looking for something very delicious and different. Wow! Did this fit the bill! Sauteed fresh jalapeno in with the onions and garlic for extra punch. Used one and a half fresh tomatoes as I didn't have canned. Used curry and other spices but not ground coriander as I didn't have, but also added Thai spice blend that I had in my pantry. Used regular raisins, not golden. I used four potatoes, but they really needed a lot of time to get soft. (Maybe time differs with types of potatoes?) Threw in some frozen carrots for extra eye appeal and to balance the spices. In any case, this was my first recipe ever cooking with kale. Loved it, loved it, loved it. My vegetarian son gives this two thumbs up! A keeper and one that will be integrated into meal rotation! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
My husband and I both really liked this, and it will be in our regular dinner rotation now. It made more than four servings, so we had more leftovers than planned. Not a problem, though, as this reheats beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Very flavorful, great balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States