Moroccan Chicken and Whole Grain Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I made this last night for 9 people. I doubled the recipe and put everything in the crockpot. Wonderful! To give it and extra kick we added mango chutney, which complemented the dish very well. Even better the next day! This is a keeper!!! Thanks for sharing MYLEEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I loved this meal. The kids seemed to like it. My husband, who has an aversion to cloves, was not as crazy about it. I took the advice of others and doubled the spices except the hot pepper and reduced the chicken broth to 32oz. I also added a tablespoon of white sugar. Next time I might cut back a little bit on the cloves and up the cinnamon slightly. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ginna
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This is absolutely delicious and visually appealing, too! I noticed one reviewer said it was bland and another said it was watery, so I increased the spices a bit and decreased the broth to 30 ounces instead of 48. I also added a handful of golden raisins. Once you add the carrots and zucchini, cook for about 15 - 20 minutes or just until fork tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Camden, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This is really a HEALING stew and has many cancer fighting ingredients and high metabolic spices (tumeric, clove, cinnamon, etc.). It is great for people fighting diabetes, cancer or just want good general health. In the recipe, I forgot that you should add about 2-3 minced garlic cloves with the onions. You can use chicken thighs, shredded chicken or mixed pieces for a more rich stew, or go without the meat and add more beans. Add more veggies of various colors. It is a great stew for fall/winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Made this for dinner tonight and invited my neighbor over. We both loved it! And my 18 month old devoured hers! The only thing I did differently was added just a bit more cayenne pepper than the recipe asks. The aroma in my kitchen was delicious and the meal had plenty of taste to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
My husband loved this and I thought it was quite good, too. I actually made the recipe for 2 servings and didn't add the beans, but added extra zucchini to make up for it. Also, added extra chicken broth to have more stuff to pour over the couscous. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
The flavor is fantastic! I'm vegan so I left out the chicken and used vegetable broth but those were the only changes I made. It was very tangy and flavorful and was perfect over the couscous. Delicious! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I made this last night and oh my gosh, how wonderful. The spices were perfect, giving it wonderful flavor. Even my picky 6 yr old loved it. It did have a lot of liquid, but it worked for us as we used it for our bread and used the rest as a stock for soup tonight. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I just served this when my family was in town and it was gone before I knew it! Even my picky eaters gobbled it up. I did add about a cup of coconut milk to the sauce which gave it a nice flavor. In addition to the couscous, I also offered it with mango rice with sweet coconut milk. This is a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
my honey and i devoured this stuff. it's even better the second day. i bought half of a rotisserie chicken at the grocery store, used the meat for my chicken, and boiled the bones and fatty bits to make the chicken broth (easy and economical!). i only made about 24 oz. of broth, and that was plenty. more spices wouldn't hurt, but the flavor is great. it's necessary to cut the amount of broth in half tho, and you could even reduce that a bit more. also, i left out the beans and added a clove of garlic. we threw in some black currants after cooking the first night. it seemed more exotic that way. the second night, i added a little garlic salt and no fruit. it's yummy that way too. i like mine with a little frank's hot sauce! and finally, i didn't crush the cloves and don't see any reason to do so. thanks for the marvelous recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marygrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Chicken

A simple mixed nut pesto pairs perfectly with nutty whole grain spaghetti.

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States