Moroccan Chicken and Whole Grain Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I made this last night for 9 people. I doubled the recipe and put everything in the crockpot. Wonderful! To give it and extra kick we added mango chutney, which complemented the dish very well. Even better the next day! This is a keeper!!! Thanks for sharing MYLEEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Not worth four stars, but better than three. It was good, but considering the wonderful spices, I found it to be somewhat bland (my daughter said it was "watery"). I think that 48 oz is way too much chicken broth, if I make it again, I will cut back the broth by at least one third, maybe even half. I also pulled the chicken out of the pot after simmering for about 15 minutes, because it was more than done, and I did not want to over-cook it (35 minutes total cook time is way too long for diced boneless chicken). I added the chicken back in after the vegetables were done. Next time, I may also consider using chicken thighs whole (with the skin and bone) to provide a richer flavor. It just lacked "oomph", but with a little work, this could be an excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This came out really well. There was a bit too much liquid for the stated cooking time. I increased the simmering time at the end of the recipe by 20 minutes and the problem was solved. Using that much liquid made a nice stew-like "gravy" in the end, so I would not suggest reducing the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Potomac, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I made this last night for dinner and was plesantly surprised but the mix of flavours. I was a little hesitate with the idea of marrying chicken with cloves and cinnamon, but it really does go nicely together. I changed the recipe a little bit (partly by accident as I live in the Netherlands and can't speak Dutch so I bought lentils instead of beans!!!). I didn't have any tumeric or cayenne pepper but I added sweet paprika and pepper to the dish along with the cloves and cinnamon. It was absolutely beautiful. I have the leftovers with me for lunch!! I was describing the dish to a friend on the phone and he was so impressed he's willing to forgo his usual dislike of vegetables and grains to try it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because I made a few changes. I used Chicken thighs instead of breast, and I added them whole. They end up breaking up really nicely. I was also out of cloves so I used all spice, and added garlic cloves in with the onions at the beginning. But this recipe is GREAT. Lots of nice flavors. Make sure to salt it at the end to bring out all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This is an easy and delicious recipe. I made a few changes and it still turned out fabulously. I was out of cloves so I substituted allspice. I used about 4 chopped fresh tomatoes instead of canned and omitted the chicken broth, zucchini, and carrots. I also used whole skinless chicken thighs since I don't care for white meat. This is a wonderful, rich, and warming stew that is great served with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHARA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ginna
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This is absolutely delicious and visually appealing, too! I noticed one reviewer said it was bland and another said it was watery, so I increased the spices a bit and decreased the broth to 30 ounces instead of 48. I also added a handful of golden raisins. Once you add the carrots and zucchini, cook for about 15 - 20 minutes or just until fork tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Camden, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I'm not a big stew person, but I enjoyed this one for a whole week. If i were to make it again, I'd add more veggies. I reduced the broth because I thought it would be more fitting as a stew. As I was pouring it it, it looked like so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Good subtle flavors, though I might have preferred a little bit more spice. I was wary of the cinnamon (and accidentally added quite a bit!) but it really enhanced the chicken and was not at all overpowering. I ended up with something pretty watery, but it was still great with couscous, and I used the leftover chicken/sauce over whole wheat penne pasta the next day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Santiago De Compostela, Galicia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Made this for dinner tonight and invited my neighbor over. We both loved it! And my 18 month old devoured hers! The only thing I did differently was added just a bit more cayenne pepper than the recipe asks. The aroma in my kitchen was delicious and the meal had plenty of taste to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Chicken

A simple mixed nut pesto pairs perfectly with nutty whole grain spaghetti.

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States