Moroccan Chicken and Whole Grain Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Holy Cow! This was awesome. My husband liked the chicken but refused to eat the veggies, the beans or the couscous. He's such a punk. It scaled down to serve just the 2 of us easily, and the flavors were great. I did add some garlic when I was sauteing the onion, and threw in raisins with the beans and tomatoes. I'm excited to eat the leftovers for lunch tomorrow, even though there's no chicken left since hubby picked it all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
i really liked this! keeps well & is very tasty! We doubled the spices though, & served with sour cream mixed in. Will definetly be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I just served this when my family was in town and it was gone before I knew it! Even my picky eaters gobbled it up. I did add about a cup of coconut milk to the sauce which gave it a nice flavor. In addition to the couscous, I also offered it with mango rice with sweet coconut milk. This is a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Good hot or cold. I added apples and almonds and a little olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I made this last night and oh my gosh, how wonderful. The spices were perfect, giving it wonderful flavor. Even my picky 6 yr old loved it. It did have a lot of liquid, but it worked for us as we used it for our bread and used the rest as a stock for soup tonight. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This is really a HEALING stew and has many cancer fighting ingredients and high metabolic spices (tumeric, clove, cinnamon, etc.). It is great for people fighting diabetes, cancer or just want good general health. In the recipe, I forgot that you should add about 2-3 minced garlic cloves with the onions. You can use chicken thighs, shredded chicken or mixed pieces for a more rich stew, or go without the meat and add more beans. Add more veggies of various colors. It is a great stew for fall/winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
My husband loved this and I thought it was quite good, too. I actually made the recipe for 2 servings and didn't add the beans, but added extra zucchini to make up for it. Also, added extra chicken broth to have more stuff to pour over the couscous. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
my honey and i devoured this stuff. it's even better the second day. i bought half of a rotisserie chicken at the grocery store, used the meat for my chicken, and boiled the bones and fatty bits to make the chicken broth (easy and economical!). i only made about 24 oz. of broth, and that was plenty. more spices wouldn't hurt, but the flavor is great. it's necessary to cut the amount of broth in half tho, and you could even reduce that a bit more. also, i left out the beans and added a clove of garlic. we threw in some black currants after cooking the first night. it seemed more exotic that way. the second night, i added a little garlic salt and no fruit. it's yummy that way too. i like mine with a little frank's hot sauce! and finally, i didn't crush the cloves and don't see any reason to do so. thanks for the marvelous recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marygrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I loved this meal. The kids seemed to like it. My husband, who has an aversion to cloves, was not as crazy about it. I took the advice of others and doubled the spices except the hot pepper and reduced the chicken broth to 32oz. I also added a tablespoon of white sugar. Next time I might cut back a little bit on the cloves and up the cinnamon slightly. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Not something I'd cook often, but it was tasty. My husband likes Moroccan better than I do, so big hit with him. I think I'd want to serve the couscous seperately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leesville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Chicken

A simple mixed nut pesto pairs perfectly with nutty whole grain spaghetti.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States