Moroccan Chicken and Whole Grain Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This recipe was disgustingly bland. I recently ordered a few Mediterranean and African cookbooks, and fortunately had those on hand to go to, for information on how to rescue the pot of ingredients that I started. The recipe posted is a watered-down version of a "Spicy Chickpea and Carrot Tagine" with chicken added. The spice bouquet in the posted recipe is too weak, and the amounts of spices should be bumped up. Also, the posted recipe omitted some essential ingredients for the tagine, including an essential one -- garlic! Furthermore, the oil used should be olive oil and a bunch of chopped cilantro should be stirred into the dish before serving. In order to rescue the pot of watery, bland stuff, I adjusted the spices and also steamed the couscous above the simmering tagine, to absorb water from the stew and concentrate the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Good but not great. Add chicken broth to your desired consistency. I used a little over half the suggested 48oz. I doubled the spices too. My only real gripe is that it doesn't taste very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yokidneybean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This was very good, but taking the other reviewers advice I cut the broth by half. I will be making this again, but I will be doubling the spices. It was a little balnd for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
An excellent dish. I made it using dark turkey meat, which I browned with the onion and two cloves of garlic for about twenty minutes before adding the other ingredients. 1/3 cup raisins added a wonderful sweetness, and I doubled the carrots and zucchini. If you want this to be a stew and not a thin soup, cut the chicken soup down to 16 ounces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I made this last night and it was delicious! Like many people, I doubled the spices and cut the chicken broth down to a 32 oz box. I used some extra broth in place of half the water when making the couscous, it gives it a nice flavor. Very good, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Really liked but I don't think 48 oz of broth is necessary. Half that amount would have been enough as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Holy Cow! This was awesome. My husband liked the chicken but refused to eat the veggies, the beans or the couscous. He's such a punk. It scaled down to serve just the 2 of us easily, and the flavors were great. I did add some garlic when I was sauteing the onion, and threw in raisins with the beans and tomatoes. I'm excited to eat the leftovers for lunch tomorrow, even though there's no chicken left since hubby picked it all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
i really liked this! keeps well & is very tasty! We doubled the spices though, & served with sour cream mixed in. Will definetly be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I just served this when my family was in town and it was gone before I knew it! Even my picky eaters gobbled it up. I did add about a cup of coconut milk to the sauce which gave it a nice flavor. In addition to the couscous, I also offered it with mango rice with sweet coconut milk. This is a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Good hot or cold. I added apples and almonds and a little olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Kathy's Delicious Whole Slow Cooker Chicken

The sauce gives this whole chicken a rich, deep flavor. And it's so easy!

How to Cut Up a Whole Chicken

Cutting whole chickens into pieces saves money. We’ll show you how in five steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States