Moroccan Chicken and Whole Grain Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Tasty & healthy! I was a bit leary of trying chicken with spices I normally associate with baking, but I'm glad I did. I took the advice from other reviews and only used 30 ounces of chicken broth (48 oz. would have made this recipe much too thin). I did not have whole cloves, so I used 1/4 tsp plus 1/8 tsp ground cloves. I also did not have crushed tomatoes so I used diced (next time I will make a point to have crushed tomates on hand - the consistency would be better). I'll be sure to make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is one of the favorite recipes in my house! I often make it with different ingredients based on what I have on hand, and it always comes out great, although it's definitely best as written. I always use frozen (defrosted) chicken thighs, and I don't even bother cutting them up. Tastes even better as leftovers - yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I had to increase the amount of spices and used less broth, but it's a good base dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very tasty - I used chicken thighs instead of breast & I think that gives it a bit more flavor. I'm also going to put more veggies in next time. If you are a fan of hot foods, look for the sauce called harissa at an ethnic or gourmet market to serve with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
In light of the comments I used whole boneless chicken breasts, one per person, and they were not overcooked at all, just right. I added an extra tsp. of cinnamon and 1/2 a tsp. of ground cloves. I didn't happen to have any whole ones on hand. Instead of cooking the couscous first, because it cooks so quickly, I did it at the end and used some of the excess liquid instead of water in the cooking of the couscous. It made it all so flavourful and the whole dish was delicious! We never had leftovers to try the next day. I have hearty eaters and they thought it was great tasing so it all disappeared in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NETCRAWLER2000CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cowansville, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by corndogmcp
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This recipe was decent, but I didn't love it. I followed another reviewer's advice and put everything in a crockpot to cook it. I reduced the liquid to 12 oz. to account for cooking it in a crockpot and that seemed to be more than enough liquid. I'd be willing to make this recipe again, but might add more cayenne pepper next time to give it more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
MY FAMILY LOVED THIS! I did up the spices like other people said and I also lessened the liquid. I added way more veggies...cauliflower, acorn squash, zukkini, raisins, carrots, potatoes, and chickpeas. im making it again tonight with lamb! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia Manocchio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I just made this for dinner and I love it. I changed it just to fit what I had in the pantry but mostly followed it. I wasn't sure what I would think of the cinnamon, but I love it! It adds awesome flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
loved making this dish. lived in morocco for a semester abroad and was craving some couscous. this was the closest thing i found to the real thing! fed it to my father and my boyfriend and the 3 of us devoured it. also used the left over stew as a tomato soup to dip grilled cheese in or just on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I love this recipe. I have made a few changes that I and my family love: 1 tsp cumin, instead of tumeric 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper 32 oz chicken broth 6 skinless, boneless chicken thighs (completely de-fatted and cubed) sliced spicy chicken chorizo sausages (I use Coleman Natural-the package says www.colemannatural.com) This can be microwaved and sliced over the top. Otherwise the recipe stays the same. It's an amazing dish. For us who love Buffalo Chicken Wings, the increased cayenne fills the kitchen, but you can dial it down if you wish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Chicken

A simple mixed nut pesto pairs perfectly with nutty whole grain spaghetti.

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States