Moroccan Chicken and Whole Grain Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Much more bland than I anticipated. Next time I will double spices and add some of my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I absolutely adore this recipe and have made it many times. My husband and 18-month-old daughter feel the same way! It's full of flavor and yet isn't too strong on any one spice. (I do decrease the cayenne a bit.) I would recommend decreasing the amount of broth by a cup or so, as it otherwise does get a bit too soupy. I also often add an extra zucchini just because I love zucchini! Mmmm, the way the couscous soaks up the liquid and adds to the final product is wonderful - I would definitely not go with rice or anything in its place. Please try this dish - you won't be sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This dish was good but the spices weren't as prominent as I had hoped. It was a bit bland for my tastes. Next time I'll try doubling the spices. Also, the zucchini didn't add anything to the dish. For veggies I would use a container of mire poix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Simple, quick, nutritious another weeknight winner! I did double the spices and added the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very delicious! I halved the recipe, making it for 3 servings. With the updated ingredients, I still put a little less of the chicken stock in, but did put the whole can (instead of half) of garbanzo beans in. Made all the difference in the world! I may not have had the pot hot enough when I put the veggies in, but next time I will definitely put the carrots in when the garbanzo beans are put in--they needed extra cooking time. Loved it, husband loved it! He said he'd definitely eat it again, finished the whole bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Tasty & healthy! I was a bit leary of trying chicken with spices I normally associate with baking, but I'm glad I did. I took the advice from other reviews and only used 30 ounces of chicken broth (48 oz. would have made this recipe much too thin). I did not have whole cloves, so I used 1/4 tsp plus 1/8 tsp ground cloves. I also did not have crushed tomatoes so I used diced (next time I will make a point to have crushed tomates on hand - the consistency would be better). I'll be sure to make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is one of the favorite recipes in my house! I often make it with different ingredients based on what I have on hand, and it always comes out great, although it's definitely best as written. I always use frozen (defrosted) chicken thighs, and I don't even bother cutting them up. Tastes even better as leftovers - yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I had to increase the amount of spices and used less broth, but it's a good base dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very tasty - I used chicken thighs instead of breast & I think that gives it a bit more flavor. I'm also going to put more veggies in next time. If you are a fan of hot foods, look for the sauce called harissa at an ethnic or gourmet market to serve with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
In light of the comments I used whole boneless chicken breasts, one per person, and they were not overcooked at all, just right. I added an extra tsp. of cinnamon and 1/2 a tsp. of ground cloves. I didn't happen to have any whole ones on hand. Instead of cooking the couscous first, because it cooks so quickly, I did it at the end and used some of the excess liquid instead of water in the cooking of the couscous. It made it all so flavourful and the whole dish was delicious! We never had leftovers to try the next day. I have hearty eaters and they thought it was great tasing so it all disappeared in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NETCRAWLER2000CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cowansville, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Chicken

A simple mixed nut pesto pairs perfectly with nutty whole grain spaghetti.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States