Moroccan Chicken and Whole Grain Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Not something I'd cook often, but it was tasty. My husband likes Moroccan better than I do, so big hit with him. I think I'd want to serve the couscous seperately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leesville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Mmm, lovely, a great stew to have this cold November week. I made a few changes, partly due to lack of ingredients, partly to doctor the flavour. I used half the amount of chicken (not a big meat-eater), no carrot, threw in a handful of raisins for extra texture, and added more spices until it was rich enough, probably doubled them all by the end. I also cut the broth down by half and it thickened up really nicely. It's a plus that I'll just have to make up a bit of couscous in no time every night before I pack this up for lunch. A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
It's really good dish- However, this dish is even better the next day - because it becomes more like gravy- instead of liquidy soup. It's very tasty- I added brown sugar and raisins to sweetened it. The raisins add little bit of sweetness in the soup- Very Good with Raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DerAvi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
The flavor is fantastic! I'm vegan so I left out the chicken and used vegetable broth but those were the only changes I made. It was very tangy and flavorful and was perfect over the couscous. Delicious! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Made this for dinner tonight and invited my neighbor over. We both loved it! And my 18 month old devoured hers! The only thing I did differently was added just a bit more cayenne pepper than the recipe asks. The aroma in my kitchen was delicious and the meal had plenty of taste to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Good subtle flavors, though I might have preferred a little bit more spice. I was wary of the cinnamon (and accidentally added quite a bit!) but it really enhanced the chicken and was not at all overpowering. I ended up with something pretty watery, but it was still great with couscous, and I used the leftover chicken/sauce over whole wheat penne pasta the next day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Santiago De Compostela, Galicia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I'm not a big stew person, but I enjoyed this one for a whole week. If i were to make it again, I'd add more veggies. I reduced the broth because I thought it would be more fitting as a stew. As I was pouring it it, it looked like so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ginna
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This is absolutely delicious and visually appealing, too! I noticed one reviewer said it was bland and another said it was watery, so I increased the spices a bit and decreased the broth to 30 ounces instead of 48. I also added a handful of golden raisins. Once you add the carrots and zucchini, cook for about 15 - 20 minutes or just until fork tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Camden, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This is an easy and delicious recipe. I made a few changes and it still turned out fabulously. I was out of cloves so I substituted allspice. I used about 4 chopped fresh tomatoes instead of canned and omitted the chicken broth, zucchini, and carrots. I also used whole skinless chicken thighs since I don't care for white meat. This is a wonderful, rich, and warming stew that is great served with a dollop of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHARA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because I made a few changes. I used Chicken thighs instead of breast, and I added them whole. They end up breaking up really nicely. I was also out of cloves so I used all spice, and added garlic cloves in with the onions at the beginning. But this recipe is GREAT. Lots of nice flavors. Make sure to salt it at the end to bring out all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Chicken

A simple mixed nut pesto pairs perfectly with nutty whole grain spaghetti.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Whole Grain Spaghetti with Pesto

Grilled chicken strips are served with spaghetti tossed with veggies and pesto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States