Moroccan Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Excellent recipe. I made a few alterations due to items I did not have and it came out great. I used only 4 chicken thighs, and added a 28 ounce can of whole tomatoes (whirled in the blender first). I also used peanuts instead of almonds, which was O.K. I would have preferred the toasted almonds myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My boys (2 & 12) loved this recipe and so did I. I was worried about the tomato soup taking over the flavor, but it didn't. I used the low-sodium soup and left the raisins out (personal preference). I also served it over rice because it wasnt quite soupy enough on its own. Very easy and quick weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Wackerbarth Mills

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is a very good dish. I made it exactly as the recipe spelled out. I would make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nhtodd

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was surprisingly tasty! The mix of cinnamon, almonds and curry is wonderfully fragrant, and overall, this was an easy, unique dish. I changed the recipe in the following ways: * Used about 6 boneless chicken thighs and two breasts, each cut in about 3-4 inch pieces * Used two peppers * Added a bit more of each spice * Omitted the raisins * Put in one whole onion (one of my guests did not like onions) * Put in cauliflower at the same time as the chickpeas. Other veggies would probably taste good here too. I agree with the other reviews that the stew was a bit thick, so I added another can of water as well. I will also add that this recipe doesn't necessarily look appetizing at first, but after letting it simmer, the chicken just melts into the sauce and it turns to be a nice stew. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
My husband absolutely loved this recipe! I doubled it so that he could have it on nights when I'm not home to cook. He is Mr. I-must-have-variety but he wants to eat it on consecutive nights!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This turned out very well, I used cubed pork tenderlion instead of chicken and it was a hit. I would add 1 cup beef boullion to make it juicier , served it over saffron rice, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Excellent! I gave it a few tweaks... I marinated the chicken in a bit of olive + sesame oil, salt and Ras El Hanout, a typical Moroccan blend of spices (recipe available on many websites). Besides, I made my own tomato soup and cooked the chickpeas myself (they are not available in cans in Brazil). The rest of the recipe was pretty much the same as the original spelled. The result was fantastic, super fragrant and tasty. Definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Ravelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I hate chickpeas, Green peppers make me burp, and red,(Bermuda onions) belong on salads-NEVER cooked, and Campells tomato soup is meant to ONLY be enjoyed with a grilled cheese sandwich. ... . But this dish-- when put together defies all my rules! it was absolutely delicious and I will make it again. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregfcarr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Fabulous! After browning the chicken I added everything in step 2 in my pressure cooker for 25 mins. After it cooled down I continued with step 3. Wonderful recipe. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This was amazing! Made bacon (crumbled on top at the end) and then used the grease to brown the chicken. I can't wait to have this again. The whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States