Moroccan Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Really yummy and flavorful! I sauteed the chicken in coconut oil instead of olive oil. I also used diced, dried apricots instead of the golden raisins which had a nice sweetness to balance the spicy. I am gluten free, so I didn't use Campbells soup (contains gluten), but used V8 Tomato or Amy's tomato soup works well too (also has more flavor than campbells). I'd put a little salt and pepper on the thighs before sauteeing. Also, serve with brown rice instead of white!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I hate chickpeas, Green peppers make me burp, and red,(Bermuda onions) belong on salads-NEVER cooked, and Campells tomato soup is meant to ONLY be enjoyed with a grilled cheese sandwich. ... . But this dish-- when put together defies all my rules! it was absolutely delicious and I will make it again. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregfcarr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was surprisingly tasty! The mix of cinnamon, almonds and curry is wonderfully fragrant, and overall, this was an easy, unique dish. I changed the recipe in the following ways: * Used about 6 boneless chicken thighs and two breasts, each cut in about 3-4 inch pieces * Used two peppers * Added a bit more of each spice * Omitted the raisins * Put in one whole onion (one of my guests did not like onions) * Put in cauliflower at the same time as the chickpeas. Other veggies would probably taste good here too. I agree with the other reviews that the stew was a bit thick, so I added another can of water as well. I will also add that this recipe doesn't necessarily look appetizing at first, but after letting it simmer, the chicken just melts into the sauce and it turns to be a nice stew. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is tasty, I did not add raisins because I wasn't sure I'd like that, but now that I've tasted it, I may try sprinkling raisins on the finished dish. I don't like soft mushy raisins! I also added about 1/2 C. of water because the sauce was too thick. I would like to add other veggies, and am searching moroccan recipes to see which ones to add. Also, I used chicken breast chunks instead of thighs. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Excellent recipe. I made a few alterations due to items I did not have and it came out great. I used only 4 chicken thighs, and added a 28 ounce can of whole tomatoes (whirled in the blender first). I also used peanuts instead of almonds, which was O.K. I would have preferred the toasted almonds myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I was a little apprehensive when I read this recipe but I had some chicken I needed to use so I tried it. I took the advice of one person who said she doubled the spices and this dish turned out to be amazing. By amazing I mean it tasted like a restaurant dish! It was so easy to fix. I did add two other spices from another moroccan stew recipe: 1/4 tsp turmeric & 1 tsp ground dried ginger. Yum! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAH2050

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneola, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This is a very good dish. I made it exactly as the recipe spelled out. I would make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nhtodd

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
A keeper. Delicious flavor. Tender chicken. I used 2/3 of a can of Progresso Creamy Tomato Basil soup, since I didn't have Campbell's on hand. I served with rice, and then used the leftover sauce with tofu, veggies and rice for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
My boys (2 & 12) loved this recipe and so did I. I was worried about the tomato soup taking over the flavor, but it didn't. I used the low-sodium soup and left the raisins out (personal preference). I also served it over rice because it wasnt quite soupy enough on its own. Very easy and quick weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Wackerbarth Mills

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I've been searching for the perfect recipe for my husband who loves tomato based sauces and curry. When I found this I was so excited. My husband LOVED it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States