Morning Glory Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This is a great recipe to help clean out the refrigerator crisper. I had some crushed pineapple and also some chunks that I sliced up into smaller bits. I had alot of apples I needed to use, so used mostly apples and pineapple, with the exception of a few grated carrot. I added an extra tsp. of cinnamon; didn't have nuts. After I got the batter made I felt it lacked a little something....back to the crisper. Lo and behold, there was an orange that was just waiting to be rubbed against the microplane. I added the zest of the entire orange. The combination of apple, pineapple, carrot, cinnamon, and the orange zest was perfect! I could smell the cinnamon and zest while baking. I didn't overdo the coconut; added just the 3/4 cup, as I have found that when I overdo it on coconut to sweet breads, it tends to be crumbly. These were perfect. The recipe made 12 Texas-sized muffins and baked for 25 minutes at 375. They look like a picture with the different colors and bits. I didn't peel the apples..just grated it right in...love the faint pinkish red color it gives the muffin. I was tempted to sub applesauce for the oil but didn't...that would make it even more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
These are a new favorite and a great way to have veggie and fruit in the morning. I omitted dates as I didn't have any and don't like coconut. I also replaced half of the oil with applesauce and sprinkled a packet of instant apple oatmeal on the tops of the muffins before baking. This added an extra apple/sweet flavor. They went incredibly fast as we all for them as a snack throughout the day, but they only got more moist as they sat. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Great recipe. In my effort to make them "healthier", here are my subs:In place of one of the 2 cups of flour, I use 1/2 c. of whole wheat flour, 1/2 c. of oat bran and 1 TBSP of wheat germ. In place of the 1/2 c. of oil, I use 1/4 c. and 1/4 c. plain lowfat yogurt. In place of the 1-1/4 c. sugar, I use 3/4 c of sugar and 1/4 c of honey. Other changes: use golden raisins in place of the dates. I add a dash of cloves and a couple dashes of nutmeg. Instead of grating the apples (I use Granny Greensmith), I chop them finely. Sometimes, I even add a small can of drained, crushed pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
Changes: Went for half whole wheat flour, half white, split the oil with applesauce, and threw in some shredded zucchini, flax seed, and soy protein for good measure. Replaced sugar with Splenda for baking. Also made 12, not 18 muffins. I used pre-shredded carrots, but I think I would have been better off shredding them myself- it threw off the texture a bit. Slightly undercooked in the middle of the bigger ones, but that's my fault. They are delish, and I imagine they're pretty good for you with my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
"These are the best muffins I've had!" was my husband's reaction to tasting these muffins. It didn't make 18 muffins though- only 12. Very moist muffin with a lot of texture. I also replaced 1/2 cup of flour with wheat flour which added a bit of flavor and I didn't use the dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
Among the many muffins I bake, I make this recipe over and over. The muffins are moist and tasty; they freeze well. They are always a hit. Folks often ask for the recipe. The preparation is, however, labor intensive -- peeling, chopping, grating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
These were fantastic! I substituted crushed pineapple for the the apple and apricots for the dates so that I didn't have to shop for ingredients. They came out exactly as what my tastebuds were craving - moist, sweet and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soolady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Great recipe - I will make these again. However, they'd be TOO SWEET as written. I only added 3/4 cup sugar instead of the 1 1/4 cups, and next time I will try with only 1/2 cup sugar. They were quite sweet with the 3/4 cup! I also didn't have coconut on hand, so I omitted that (without replacing with anything), and they were still delish. I omitted the vanilla b/c I didn't want these to be overly cake-tasting. Finally, I used olive oil instead of veg oil - works a treat! Note that the batter is SUPER THICK - I was worried at first! But they turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
My family LOVED these muffins! We use to buy Morning Glory Muffins years ago from a bakery that's too far out of our way now. I was thrilled to find this and two other recipes here for the muffins. I made a double batch, baked some in tiny tins (about 10 minutes) and some in really big tins (about 22 minutes). Be careful to take these out at JUST the right time, as a minute or two makes a big difference. I'm going to try the other recipe with wheat germ and apple butter next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
Good, but to sweet. Use 3/4 cup sugar instead! Change the dates for dried cranberries...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States