Morning Glory Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
"These are the best muffins I've had!" was my husband's reaction to tasting these muffins. It didn't make 18 muffins though- only 12. Very moist muffin with a lot of texture. I also replaced 1/2 cup of flour with wheat flour which added a bit of flavor and I didn't use the dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
Among the many muffins I bake, I make this recipe over and over. The muffins are moist and tasty; they freeze well. They are always a hit. Folks often ask for the recipe. The preparation is, however, labor intensive -- peeling, chopping, grating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
Good, but to sweet. Use 3/4 cup sugar instead! Change the dates for dried cranberries...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
My family LOVED these muffins! We use to buy Morning Glory Muffins years ago from a bakery that's too far out of our way now. I was thrilled to find this and two other recipes here for the muffins. I made a double batch, baked some in tiny tins (about 10 minutes) and some in really big tins (about 22 minutes). Be careful to take these out at JUST the right time, as a minute or two makes a big difference. I'm going to try the other recipe with wheat germ and apple butter next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
I have made these muffins after I bought a tub of the batter from a fund raiser. This is just like the batter with the exception of pineapple. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This recipe is great! Have been in search of a moist muffin mix with wholesome goodness...just made 'em and ate 'em (not ALL! of them). Will be perfect for toting to work. I used the idea of replacing 1/2 cup of white with whole wheat flour and crushed walnuts instead of pecans -- also had no coconut. Both Doggie-Daddy and I will heartily enjoy them! THanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Excellent recipe...I think a small can of pineapple, substituted for part of the carrots & apple, would improve this recipe even further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Excellent! I followed recipe exactly and they turned out moist and rich, just sweet enough. I agree with the suggestions of substituting cranberries for the dates, swapping walnuts for pecans, adding or subbing pineapple for some of the apple and carrots as variations on the original, and I plan to do just that in the future, but I will also continue to make the original recipe too. Thanks for posting such a great recipe! NOTE--My yield came out as 12 regular size and 34 mini's, as I filled the muffin tins about 2/3 full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
just a short note to say that this was a great recipe.they are great for people on the road.I put sun flower seeds and used granny smith apples. This will be a sure fav. in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
did i forget to add the sugar? i was not excited about this recipe and will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States