Morning Glory Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
For overall taste and texture these were good! I must say though if you're using freshly grated carrots, strain first to remove excess water. When measuring the carrots, pack them in. If you've got a food processor you can get this done much faster. Blend first ingredients, pour into bowl, then process other ingredients and add to flour mixture. So much faster and less labor :-) These would be good with a frosting too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
My version: (vegan!) 1/2 c whole wheat flour+1 1/2 c all purpose flour 3/4 c sugar 1 1/2 tsp baking soda 2 tsp cinnamon 1/2 tsp salt 1 c grated carrots 3/4 c grated apples 3/4 c coconut 3 Tbsp corn starch 5/8 c applesauce 1/4 c canola oil 1/2 tsp vanilla *Took much less time to bake, only like 12 minutes. Also, only yields about 12 regular sized muffins. These are wonderful though, not too sweet and very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
YUM! I messed around with the recipe a bit but I'll still give it five stars 'cause I think the original would be amazing too, or even better - I didn't have dates or nuts, so I didn't use them, but I bet they would have been great. I cut back on the sugar a bit as suggested, and subbed in some brown sugar for some of the white. I had a can of crushed pineapple that I drained and used instead of the apple pieces. So basically I used this recipe for carrot cake muffins =) and they were delicious! Obviously a very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I cut back on the sugar and regretted it. Use all the sugar. My toddler loved them though and can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I substituted half of the flour with wheat flour, coconut oil instead of vegetable and half of the sugar with unrefined organic sugar. I used a juicer for the carrots & apples to make them more digestable, which after combining juice and pulp amounts to approx. 1 c. each (rather than 1.5 c). Note that the batter is thick and sticky. Also, I added 1/2 c. dried pineapple pieces (soaked for an hr in water then drained) and a tbs of dried orange zest. Muffins turned out great and extremely moist! They also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This was very good. They looked picture-perfect! Moist! Maybe a bit sweet for my tastes, but overall, we really enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crozet, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made these because I had a some dates to get rid of, and just happened to have the rest of the ingredients on hand, too. These were good, but not spectacular. I followed the recipe exactly, except didn't peel my apples (nor did I notice the peels once all chopped up!). Using a food processor makes these a lot quicker. I grated everything first, then because it's such a course grate I put the apple and carrots in and pulse chopped it a few times. To me these are really more like not as sweet carrot cake, and I prefer them with a very thin layer of cream cheese frosting. I don't know how some people only got 12 muffins from this recipe. I filled regular muffin cups 3/4 full with batter and got 21 muffins! I do like recipes that use lots of fruits/veggies like this because my kids like these types of breads and otherwise wouldn't eat half the stuff in these. My four year old ate 3 of these in one day and wanted more! Also, these were better a day later, staying moist and seemed more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Great muffins! I didn't have any dates or raisins so I omitted them and I only used 3/4 cup of sugar because the coconut was sweetened. They turned out perfectly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I personally didn't try the muffins, but gave them to a volunteer group as well as a few to a friend. When asked, they rated them between 4 and a half to 5. I followed the recipe to a tee. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
LOVED these. I was looking for a good carrot muffin as my kids love them...this is it!! I made all mini-muffins and froze half of them. The next morning I had to defrost them because my kids had already eaten the first half. I am going to double the recipe next time. I did use a blender for the apples and carrots...much faster!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GGRASLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States