Morning Glory Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
I have made these muffins after I bought a tub of the batter from a fund raiser. This is just like the batter with the exception of pineapple. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Oh my, how delightfully good. Quite the nice variety of flavors. Very moist and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Excellent recipe...I think a small can of pineapple, substituted for part of the carrots & apple, would improve this recipe even further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This recipe is great! Have been in search of a moist muffin mix with wholesome goodness...just made 'em and ate 'em (not ALL! of them). Will be perfect for toting to work. I used the idea of replacing 1/2 cup of white with whole wheat flour and crushed walnuts instead of pecans -- also had no coconut. Both Doggie-Daddy and I will heartily enjoy them! THanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Great recipe. In my effort to make them "healthier", here are my subs:In place of one of the 2 cups of flour, I use 1/2 c. of whole wheat flour, 1/2 c. of oat bran and 1 TBSP of wheat germ. In place of the 1/2 c. of oil, I use 1/4 c. and 1/4 c. plain lowfat yogurt. In place of the 1-1/4 c. sugar, I use 3/4 c of sugar and 1/4 c of honey. Other changes: use golden raisins in place of the dates. I add a dash of cloves and a couple dashes of nutmeg. Instead of grating the apples (I use Granny Greensmith), I chop them finely. Sometimes, I even add a small can of drained, crushed pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I really liked these muffins... I made the recipe exactly and they turned out well, although I think my oven was a little hot and they were almost underdone with very dark tops. I froze them in little baggies and they seem to thaw out ok, not too mushy. Luckily I have a food processor to do all the shredding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZEBOR
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
this recipe is beautiful! the muffins turn out great, wholesum and flavorful. moreover, they are made with the best flavors and igredients. a must recipe + a huge keeper. [made it twice + sent some photos]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Excellent! I followed recipe exactly and they turned out moist and rich, just sweet enough. I agree with the suggestions of substituting cranberries for the dates, swapping walnuts for pecans, adding or subbing pineapple for some of the apple and carrots as variations on the original, and I plan to do just that in the future, but I will also continue to make the original recipe too. Thanks for posting such a great recipe! NOTE--My yield came out as 12 regular size and 34 mini's, as I filled the muffin tins about 2/3 full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Delicious! We're counting calories and fat, so I omitted the vegetable oil and replaced it with an equal amount of plain yogurt (actually, it was probably about 3/4 cup yogurt, because I had to add more to get all the dry ingredients moistened). Very moist. I may try reducing the sugar a little next time to futher reduce the calories; they were not too sweet for us, but I think they'd still be sweet enough with a little less sugar. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
just a short note to say that this was a great recipe.they are great for people on the road.I put sun flower seeds and used granny smith apples. This will be a sure fav. in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States