Morning Glory Muffins II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
These are good. I used carrots and apples, and ommitted the nuts. They are tasty and make a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirelle James Edghill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
These are very good. I just used what I had in my cupboard which ended up being apples, carrots, coconut, dried cranberries and hazelnuts. I also used 1/2 wheat flour and 1/2 white. Next time to make them healthier, I will eliminate some of the sugar and fat by replacing some of it with honey and flax seeds. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
These were fantastic and I have never been overly fond of muffins before. I decided to try them in my kids lunch box and they loved them. The only changes I made were to substitute mixed dried fruit for the dates and reduce the sugar and use some honey instead. They come out great and I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Essex, England, U.K.
Living In: Tiptree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This is a great recipe to help clean out the refrigerator crisper. I had some crushed pineapple and also some chunks that I sliced up into smaller bits. I had alot of apples I needed to use, so used mostly apples and pineapple, with the exception of a few grated carrot. I added an extra tsp. of cinnamon; didn't have nuts. After I got the batter made I felt it lacked a little something....back to the crisper. Lo and behold, there was an orange that was just waiting to be rubbed against the microplane. I added the zest of the entire orange. The combination of apple, pineapple, carrot, cinnamon, and the orange zest was perfect! I could smell the cinnamon and zest while baking. I didn't overdo the coconut; added just the 3/4 cup, as I have found that when I overdo it on coconut to sweet breads, it tends to be crumbly. These were perfect. The recipe made 12 Texas-sized muffins and baked for 25 minutes at 375. They look like a picture with the different colors and bits. I didn't peel the apples..just grated it right in...love the faint pinkish red color it gives the muffin. I was tempted to sub applesauce for the oil but didn't...that would make it even more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I was not at all impressed with these muffins. I did not find them moist at all. I omitted the dates, and it definately was lacking something. If I were ever to make these again, I would take the advice of previous reviews and add pineapple to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
These muffins are to die for!! They were easy to make and soooo delicious! I used walnut crumbs instead of pecans; I may try sunflower seeds next time. This is a 5 star recipe and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZEBOR
Reviewed: May 30, 2005
this recipe is beautiful! the muffins turn out great, wholesum and flavorful. moreover, they are made with the best flavors and igredients. a must recipe + a huge keeper. [made it twice + sent some photos]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Great recipe. In my effort to make them "healthier", here are my subs:In place of one of the 2 cups of flour, I use 1/2 c. of whole wheat flour, 1/2 c. of oat bran and 1 TBSP of wheat germ. In place of the 1/2 c. of oil, I use 1/4 c. and 1/4 c. plain lowfat yogurt. In place of the 1-1/4 c. sugar, I use 3/4 c of sugar and 1/4 c of honey. Other changes: use golden raisins in place of the dates. I add a dash of cloves and a couple dashes of nutmeg. Instead of grating the apples (I use Granny Greensmith), I chop them finely. Sometimes, I even add a small can of drained, crushed pineapple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Elizabeth, Maine, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
Oh my, how delightfully good. Quite the nice variety of flavors. Very moist and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
Delicious! We're counting calories and fat, so I omitted the vegetable oil and replaced it with an equal amount of plain yogurt (actually, it was probably about 3/4 cup yogurt, because I had to add more to get all the dry ingredients moistened). Very moist. I may try reducing the sugar a little next time to futher reduce the calories; they were not too sweet for us, but I think they'd still be sweet enough with a little less sugar. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States