Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I really liked these muffins but I made a couple of adjustments to the original recipe. I used 3/4 cup of sugar instead of 1 1/2 cups. The sweetness was perfect- the fruit adds a lot of sweetness so you don't miss the sugar at all. I used applesauce instead of apple butter and I used equal parts whole wheat flour and white flour (1 cup of each). I did not have an apple so I used a Bartlett pear and I left the skin on. I used a mini muffin tin and filled each tin to the top and baked them for 12 minutes- they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Great for my one-year-old! These are even better than I thought they would be! I made them without raisins or walnuts (but still used the wheat germ on top) so I could freeze them for my one-year old. An easy thing to pack for his lunches at daycare! The only reason I gave them 4 stars instead of 5 is because the clean-up is a pain - anything that involves the food processor is annoying to me. Next time I make them, I will make a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very good, I cut the recipe in 1/2 and pulsed the carrots in the food processor. I upped the raisens by a 1/4 c. on the 1/2ed recipe and also still do 1 full egg and then 1 additional full egg instead of just the egg white. Excellent this way, also used applesauce as others had mentioned vs. applebutter. For those who wanted more batter the extra egg should help with that. Also didn't have wheat bran so I made a streusal of flour,butter, brown sugar and pecans. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
These were really good and had great flavor! I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins which I thought gave it a nice zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Delicious! I used 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup AP. Used apple sauce in place of oil and skipped the walnuts and wheat germ. Will definitely I make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Very yummy and easy! I used only white flour because that's what I had. I used 1 cup of honey instead of white sugar and 1 cup applesauce instead of apple butter and oil. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
These are wonderful! The only thing I did different was the wheat germ, which I don't like. Instead I ground some flax seed and used that. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Just wanted to share my substitution. Instead of apple butter, I mixed in mashed bananas. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Wow Wow!!!! Amazing muffins! Only changes I made, since I didn't have apple butter on hand, I added 1 c. applesauce and didn't add any chopped apples like the recipe called for. Also, added 1-2T. extra of sugar and 1t. extra of cinnamon (to make up for the extra sugar and cinnamon being in apple butter). --For the raisins, I pre-softened them by putting them in a pan with just enough cold water to cover, brought it to a boil, then shut the burner off, and covered with a lid for just a few min. Strain off the water and get as much liquid off the raisins before adding to the dry mixture. I also used a food processor to made the process of grating the carrots quicker (mine was a tiny one, but worked like a charm!). Also, I didn't have wheat germ on hand, so I used flaxseed instead. --Gave one of these muffins to a friend of mine to eat on her way home (got a text before she got home that she LOVED these muffins and HAD to have the recipe!! The muffin was even a day or two old. So, thanks Jaclyn for sharing! **I made these muffins in hopes that I could get my toddler to eat carrots and a bunch of other healthy stuff for him- so far so good :) I will be making these again and AGAIN. P.S. I'm eating one now that's about 3-4 days old and it's STILL super moist and out of this world! My hubby loves these too*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Yummy recipe! I use apple sauce instead of apple butter and usually just use all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 711) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States