Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
My family loved this recipe! I love the adaptability of it, for instance, I did not have any apples on hand, but chopped up 1 cup overripe strawberries, 1/2 an orange, then added 3/4c blueberries, then the grated carrots. I also added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp of cloves, 1/2 tsp of ginger for additional spice. I used more wheat flour than white flour (I just reversed the measurements). I only used 1 cup of sugar and applesauce instead of apple butter. For the topping, I did not have wheat germ, but ground flaxseed, so I mixed flaxseed w/cinnamon and smidge of brown sugar w/the chopped walnuts! My three kids each ate 3 of these! I think next time, I will incorporate chia seeds for some added protein into the mix. Thanks for a great start to our hectic morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I have made these numerous times. I do change up the recipe a bit. I use half white and half whole wheat flour. I cut the sugar back to just 1 cup and again use half white and half brown sugar. I do like the apple butter in the recipe. Sometimes when I have applesauce in my fridge, I will replace that for the 1/4 cup of oil. Also, depending on what I have on hand, I sometimes replace the toasted wheat germ with milled flax seed. These are a great breakfast muffin and I always double the recipe. They freeze so well and I can pull out as many as needed and just let thaw. I recommend that you try these. I can almost guarantee that you will like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This recipe is easy and fast. I did not have apple sauce nor apple butter so I used strawberry butter. Instead of whole weat flour, I used rolled oat and cranberries to substitute the raisins. They were awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I used two whole eggs instead of the egg and egg whites. What a hit! The 4yo wanted to eat the batter without baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Absolutely loved it. They were crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside... Even a couple of days after I made them, they still tasted great (as if fresh out of the oven)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
followed advice and used 1 c of wheat flour and 1 c of white flour 1/2 c of applesauce 1/2 c of fresh blueberries and 1/4 c of mashed banana. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I also substitute my homemade applesauce for the cut apple and apple butter just because that's what I have around. I use the honey wheat germ and don't bother to pretoast it. Just spoon it over the muffins. I make the large size muffins so I tend to lower the oven temperate and cook and little longer. They have a natural sweetness, good hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Whitmoyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
the first time I tried that recipe, I was a bit uncertain: the batter was so thick, and so full of fruits and veggies, I really did not know how they would turn out. But they turned out fan-tas-tic!! My two fussy-eaters, teenage boys are crazy about them! The only change I made was using a whole egg instead of two egg whites. Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Very satisfying and healthy. Great for breakfast on the go or an afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I had to make a few changes - most notable was substituting rhubarb compote for the apple butter. It took a couple minutes longer to cook but still tasted great. My wheat germ was dubious so I skipped that. Also I omitted peeling the apple but just grated it along with the carrot in the food processer; can't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 711) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States