Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
These are delicious. I didn't do vegetable oil, I did an entire cup of applesauce. No apple butter. I also mashed up a whole rip banana. Didn't have walnuts and crushed almonds. I also didn't do sugar and just used some Agave. Soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyrica01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This recipie has little flavor and is missing a lot. The traditional Morning Glory muffins also have crushed pineapple and shredded coconut. Pecans instead of walnuts. Not one I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I reduced the sugar and served these for DESSERT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
My family loved this recipe! I love the adaptability of it, for instance, I did not have any apples on hand, but chopped up 1 cup overripe strawberries, 1/2 an orange, then added 3/4c blueberries, then the grated carrots. I also added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp of cloves, 1/2 tsp of ginger for additional spice. I used more wheat flour than white flour (I just reversed the measurements). I only used 1 cup of sugar and applesauce instead of apple butter. For the topping, I did not have wheat germ, but ground flaxseed, so I mixed flaxseed w/cinnamon and smidge of brown sugar w/the chopped walnuts! My three kids each ate 3 of these! I think next time, I will incorporate chia seeds for some added protein into the mix. Thanks for a great start to our hectic morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I have made these numerous times. I do change up the recipe a bit. I use half white and half whole wheat flour. I cut the sugar back to just 1 cup and again use half white and half brown sugar. I do like the apple butter in the recipe. Sometimes when I have applesauce in my fridge, I will replace that for the 1/4 cup of oil. Also, depending on what I have on hand, I sometimes replace the toasted wheat germ with milled flax seed. These are a great breakfast muffin and I always double the recipe. They freeze so well and I can pull out as many as needed and just let thaw. I recommend that you try these. I can almost guarantee that you will like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This recipe is easy and fast. I did not have apple sauce nor apple butter so I used strawberry butter. Instead of whole weat flour, I used rolled oat and cranberries to substitute the raisins. They were awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I used two whole eggs instead of the egg and egg whites. What a hit! The 4yo wanted to eat the batter without baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Absolutely loved it. They were crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside... Even a couple of days after I made them, they still tasted great (as if fresh out of the oven)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
followed advice and used 1 c of wheat flour and 1 c of white flour 1/2 c of applesauce 1/2 c of fresh blueberries and 1/4 c of mashed banana. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I also substitute my homemade applesauce for the cut apple and apple butter just because that's what I have around. I use the honey wheat germ and don't bother to pretoast it. Just spoon it over the muffins. I make the large size muffins so I tend to lower the oven temperate and cook and little longer. They have a natural sweetness, good hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Whitmoyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 704) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States