Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
My family loved this recipe! I love the adaptability of it, for instance, I did not have any apples on hand, but chopped up 1 cup overripe strawberries, 1/2 an orange, then added 3/4c blueberries, then the grated carrots. I also added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp of cloves, 1/2 tsp of ginger for additional spice. I used more wheat flour than white flour (I just reversed the measurements). I only used 1 cup of sugar and applesauce instead of apple butter. For the topping, I did not have wheat germ, but ground flaxseed, so I mixed flaxseed w/cinnamon and smidge of brown sugar w/the chopped walnuts! My three kids each ate 3 of these! I think next time, I will incorporate chia seeds for some added protein into the mix. Thanks for a great start to our hectic morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I have made these numerous times. I do change up the recipe a bit. I use half white and half whole wheat flour. I cut the sugar back to just 1 cup and again use half white and half brown sugar. I do like the apple butter in the recipe. Sometimes when I have applesauce in my fridge, I will replace that for the 1/4 cup of oil. Also, depending on what I have on hand, I sometimes replace the toasted wheat germ with milled flax seed. These are a great breakfast muffin and I always double the recipe. They freeze so well and I can pull out as many as needed and just let thaw. I recommend that you try these. I can almost guarantee that you will like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This recipe is easy and fast. I did not have apple sauce nor apple butter so I used strawberry butter. Instead of whole weat flour, I used rolled oat and cranberries to substitute the raisins. They were awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I used two whole eggs instead of the egg and egg whites. What a hit! The 4yo wanted to eat the batter without baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Absolutely loved it. They were crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside... Even a couple of days after I made them, they still tasted great (as if fresh out of the oven)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
followed advice and used 1 c of wheat flour and 1 c of white flour 1/2 c of applesauce 1/2 c of fresh blueberries and 1/4 c of mashed banana. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I also substitute my homemade applesauce for the cut apple and apple butter just because that's what I have around. I use the honey wheat germ and don't bother to pretoast it. Just spoon it over the muffins. I make the large size muffins so I tend to lower the oven temperate and cook and little longer. They have a natural sweetness, good hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Whitmoyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
the first time I tried that recipe, I was a bit uncertain: the batter was so thick, and so full of fruits and veggies, I really did not know how they would turn out. But they turned out fan-tas-tic!! My two fussy-eaters, teenage boys are crazy about them! The only change I made was using a whole egg instead of two egg whites. Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Very satisfying and healthy. Great for breakfast on the go or an afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I had to make a few changes - most notable was substituting rhubarb compote for the apple butter. It took a couple minutes longer to cook but still tasted great. My wheat germ was dubious so I skipped that. Also I omitted peeling the apple but just grated it along with the carrot in the food processer; can't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Addictive Pumpkin Muffins

These delicious muffins are a low-fat version of a pumpkin bread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States