Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PAULITAZ
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Modified for our own taste by using 1c flour, 1c whole wheat flour, 1c apple sauce (instead of ½ apple butter), and added ½c unsweetened coconut. I also made two batches, one with 1c sugar and one with 1c Spenda as we wanted to see if there was a measurable difference in taste. Both batches were really marvelous! Splenda seems to really do well as a sugar substitute when baking. Took them to work thinking I would freeze any leftovers but couldn’t because there weren’t any. A huge hit in the office although next time I will NOT use muffin liners. Thanks for the delicious, low-fat, Weight Watcher friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
581 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
These are fantastic! Instead of grating the carrots and chopping the apple, I just ran it all through the food processor real quick. And I used unsweetened applesauce instead of apple butter--much cheaper and also better for you. Instead of making the topping of chopped nuts and wheat germ, I just added about 1/2 cup chopped nuts to the mix. I also used baking papers instead of greasing the tins. They turned out soooo good! I will make these over and over again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
501 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This recipe is the best! I used 1c honey instead of the sugar, and used equal parts whole wheat flour and whole wheat pastry flour instead of the suggested amounts of flour. I also used an egg substitute instead of eggs and soymilk to make the whole thing vegan - it still tasted superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I am not great at eating things good for me, but these were OUTSTANDING! The only changes I made to the recipe was to substitute the oil and apple butter for 1C applesauce and increase the walnuts to 1/2C. SUPER RECIPE, THANKS A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I needed a muffin that called for a lot of fruit since I had some of everything on hand and this fit the bill. Made these yesterday and have 3 left! I used 2 overripe bananas for the apple butter and forgot the wheat germ and nuts, but they are still terrific. Kids love them and my husband ate 4 in a sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
I made these for Christmas brunch and they were a big hit. I could not find apple butter in the store, but substituted applesauce without a problem. My 2-year-old loved them. One reviewer complained that there wasn't alot of batter, but that is why I enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
We love these muffins! And who can tell they're good for you, too?! Grating the carrots takes me a while--wish I had a food processor. Hint: they freeze then toast up in the toaster oven good as new. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
I didn't have apple butter so I used applesauce. The muffin were still very moist and very appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
What a wonderful muffin! They smelled great baking and tasted great too. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2001
This is a fabulous recipe. Moist, very flavorful and low fat! I've made it dozens of times to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 694) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States