Morning Glory Muffins I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I am looking forward to baking these muffins but have a question to the people that suggest using a food processor for the carrots & apples. Do you use the grate attachment or pulse/chop these ingredients?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alli Shircliff
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have apple butter, so I puréed an apple in the blender with lemon juice and cinnamon and used that in place of the apple butter and chopped apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli Shircliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Hearty, healthy and delicious! These muffins are great for breakfast, but even better for a quick afternoon snack. I did make them healthier than the original recipe using some suggestions from other cooks. I replaced half of the flour with Whole wheat, substituted 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup honey for white sugar and substituted plain yogurt for the oil. I agree that the muffins were very sticky when they were warm but didn't stick to the paper at all after completely cooled. I will make these again, probably subbing more white flour with oats or flax meal. Thank you for these fantastic muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe! I believe it's the best muffin recipe I've ever made. They turned out moist and they had great flavor. I did have to modify a bit for what I had in hand - I used 1 cup AP and 1 cup whole wheat flour, 3/4 cup granulated sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, no raisins, and used applesauce instead of the apple butter. Any way you make them - they're a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Delicious, moist, easy and very healthy.....loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is such a great muffin base. I have tweaked it in so many ways and it doesn't disappoint. My favourite change is to add chopped up (dried) apricots. I always use whole wheat flour only (in everything). I substitute 1 cup of applesauce instead of the apple butter and oil - healthier, and you'd never know the difference. Mini muffins take about 12-15 mins (depending on size) and regular muffins took about 17-21 mins (also, depending on how full you fill the muffin tin). I try to make a different batch of muffins each week for healthy snacks for my family, but this is hands-down the favourite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
great muffins! very easy to freeze and reheat. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I use applesauce and peanut butter for added protein. I also use whole wheat flour and flax seed. Turns out really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made these today, having only heard of these muffins on this site and thus never tried them before. So, I have nothing to compare them to. They were an interesting muffin. I liked that they were not overly sweet, which does make them perfect as a morning muffin. On Cooks Country, though, they said that the title came from the name of the restaurant/bakery that created them. I decided to test with 1/2 recipe and got 9 muffins as suggested by doing so. I followed the recipe exactly, except I only had 1/3 cup of raisins for half the recipe so I was a little short. However, there still seemed to be plenty of raisins. I also just used 1 egg, for half the recipe instead of the egg white and egg for ease and to avoid waste. I even liked the topping of wheat germ and walnuts. It was a nice change from the overly sweet sugary toppings on so many muffins. I am going to see how they taste tomorrow. They may be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This was pretty good but I found them a bit dry my liking. I can appreciate all the terrific ingredients that went into these, but chances are I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 687) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States